International Security Index iSi

PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

The Security Index Occasional Paper Series Publishes Policy Memo " If the New START Treaty Expires With No Extension:Scenarios For Russia" image
01.06.2020

The memo presents possible scenarios should the New START Treaty expire without extension. Special attention is being paid to confidence building measures to implement without a treaty-like legal basis. The memo also considers the build-up potential of strategic nuclear forces of Russia and the US.

 

29.05.2020

"As a follow-up to my Memos dated March 27, 2020, April 10, 2020, April 24, 2020 and May 12, 2020, I hereby declare the extension of the remote work mode until June 11, 2020 inclusive, due to the persistence of the complex epidemiological situation in Moscow", – Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, Director of PIR Center.

26.05.2020

«The circumstances in which the whole world has found itself today have changed, but the importance of nuclear nonproliferation issues and U.S.-Russia dialogue on the NPT review process continues to bring together both young and major experts. I am very glad that modern technologies help us in this. Could anyone predict a year ago, at the last meeting of the working group, that the Review Conference would be rescheduled? Hardly. But this gives us time, and by “us” I mean Russia, the USA and the whole nonproliferation community, time to think creatively about how we can better prepare for it. And our Track 2.5 meetings are devoted to exactly such ideas, fresh and bright, from the next generation of experts», – Director of PIR Center, Head of the Center for Global Trends and International Organizations at the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Federation, Professor at MGIMO University, Co-Chair of the working group Dr. Vladimir Orlov

PIR Center at the 2015 NPT Review Conference

IX Review Conference of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons took place in New York from April 27 to May 22, 2015. Representatives from 191 member states came together to evaluate the status of the Treaty and lay down main goals for nuclear nonproliferation, disarmament and peaceful use of nuclear energy for the next five years. The Conference ended without the final document,

Implimentation of the Article VI concerning nuclear disarmament and creation of the WMD Zone in the Middle Easr became key issues of the 9th Review Conference. 

PIR Center team participated in the work of the Conference during the whole month.

Our analysis:

   

Andrey BaklitskiyTowards the NPT Review Conference: Deceptive Ease of the Third PrepCom — No Harbinger of Miracle

 

@baklitskiy

       
   

Vladimir Orlov - What Future for the NPT?

 

@orlov_pircenter

 

loading