Projects

“A world without nuclear weapons is a long-term goal which we need to start working towards right now. It is possible that at some point in the future...

«I welcome the initiative to create Centre russe d'études politiques. This will make a significant contribution to strengthening the strategic dialogu...

Articles

Since Barack Obama administration took office in 2009, it has put considerable effort into placing nuclear disarmament and nonproliferation at the center of the U.S. nuclear policy. In April 2009 in Prague American president delivered a speech where he called for complete elimination of nuclear weap...

Economic growth and the combined demographic, scientific and industrial potential of the BRICS countries have turned the bloc into a global leader. Other global players are paying close attention to this format of international cooperation. BRICS nations are already working closely in the area of fi...

Dear Tom,

It is a pleasure to have the chance to correspond with you, and I am grateful to the Security Index for this exchange. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on whether a policy of nuclear disarmament is appropriate within the current international security climate.

For my part, I a...

Divergent perceptions of the proliferation threat play a significant role in the nonproliferation regime. By analyzing threat perception and resulting state policy preferences, the authors help identify issues on which a convergence of views, if not consensus, might be generated, and highlight those...

Experts

  • Position : Professor
  • Affiliation : Department of Integrated Communications, The Higher School of Economics
  • Affiliation : Director, Center for Energy and Security Studies (CENESS)
  • Affiliation : Journalist
  • Affiliation : President, President, The Middle East Institute (MEI)
complete list

II Gstaad international high-level seminar on “Energy and Global Security: towards a Cooperative Approach” 15.09.2007

September 13-15, 2007

II internatinal high-level seminar

Gstaad, Switzerland

Organized by: Center for Policy Studies in Russia (PIR Center), Geneva Center for Security Policy (GCSP), the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland (FDFA), James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies

Objective: Being an informal forum, the Gstaad Process encourages the leading experts on the field of international security to share their opinions and tries to find common ground between the interests of the key players of the world politics. The workshop was held in free-and-easy atmosphere and allowed its participants acting in a private capacity to discuss the common agenda on major challenges of energy security.

Participants: More than 30 representatives including statesmen and internationally renowned experts from Europe, Russia, the United States, Japan, and India attended the workshop. Among Russian experts who participated in the workshop are Editor-in-Chief of the Moscow Bureau of the BBC Russian Service Konstantin Eggert, Deputy General Director of the National Laboratory for Foreign Policy Dmitry Evstafiev, Director of the Department of International Cooperation of TENEX Sergey Mostinskiy, Visiting Research Officer at the World Nuclear Association Sergey Ruchkin, and President of the Institute for Middle East Studies Evgeny Satanovsky. Representatives of Russian and foreign business with interests in Russia also participated in the workshop. Delegation from the PIR Center included its President Vladimir Orlov, Executive Director Anton Khlopkov, Security Index Assistant Editor Pavel Mansurov, and Research Associate Nikita Perfilyev. During the workshop Anton Khlopkov delivered a report on “What will a Nuclear Agreement with the United States Bring Russia?” Nikita Perfilyev presented on the issue of “Geopolitics of Oil: Russian Perspective”.

Results: An informal format of the workshop gave participants the possibility to discuss in straightforward and polemical manner the main range of international energy security issues including WMD nonproliferation, the threat posed by non-state actors, terrorism, protection of critical infrastructure, issues of Russian bilateral and multilateral relations with the Western states.

Comments

 
 
loading

Проекты

«Безъядерный мир – это долгосрочная перспектива, над которой нужно работать уже сейчас. Возможно, что в дальнейшем необходимо начать думать о модерниз...

«Я приветствую создание Centre russe d'études politiques. Это внесет значительный вклад в укрепление стратегического диалога между Россией, Европой и ...

Статьи

С тех пор как администрация Барака Обамы пришла к власти в 2009 году, ею были приложены значительные усилия по актуализации ядерного разоружения и нераспространения в ядерной политике США. В апреле 2009 года в Праге американский президент выступил с речью, в которой он призвал к полному уничтожению ...

В статье отражены основные моменты развития программы Нанна-Лугара в России, рассмотрены ее достижения и упущения, даны рекомендации по поводу того, как опыт данной программы может быть использован при формировании нового соглашения о сотрудничестве между Россией и США в ядерной сфере.

Предпосылки п...

Роль ядерной энергетики как фактора обеспечения стабильного и устойчивого экономического и социально-политического развития будет возрастать. В случае долгосрочного и полномасштабного развития ядерной энергетики необходимо начать обсуждение мер, которые позволят достичь консенсуса в решении проблемы...

В статье рассмотрены программа Глобального партнерства против распространения оружия и материалов массового уничтожения и Международный научно-технический центр. На примере этих взаимосвязанных международных механизмов сделана попытка оценить потенциальные возможности оказать позитивное воздействие ...

Эксперты

  • Должность : Профессор
  • Место работы : Кафедра интегрированных коммуникаций, Высшая школа экономики
  • Место работы : Директор, Центр энергетики и безопасности
  • Место работы : Журналист
  • Место работы : Президент, Институт Ближнего Востока
Все эксперты

II международный семинар высокого уровня "Энергетика и глобальная безопасность: на пути к совместному подходу" 15.09.2007

 13-15 сентября 2007 года

Место проведения: Гштаад, Швейцария

Организаторы: ПИР-Центр политических исследований, Женевский Центр политики безопасности, Федеральный департамент иностранных дел Швейцарии, Центр исследования проблем нераспространения им. Джеймса Мартина при Монтерейском институте международных исследований

Цель: Будучи неформальным форумом, Гштаадский процесс способствует обмену мнениями между ведущими экспертами по международной безопасности и является попыткой найти точки соприкосновения между интересами ведущих игроков международной политики.

Участники: В семинаре приняли участие более 30 государственных деятелей и признанных экспертов по вопросам международной безопасности из Европы, России и США. Среди российских экспертов и официальных лиц, принявших участие в семинаре, следует выделить заместителя директора Национальной лаборатории внешней политики Дмитрия Евстафьева, директора департамента международного сотрудничества Техснабэкспорта Сергея Мостинского, представителя России при Международной ядерной ассоциации Сергея Ручкина, президента института стран Ближнего Востока Евгения Сатановского, шефа Московского бюро Русской службы BBC Константина Эггерта. Особенностью прошедшего семинара также стало участие российского и иностранного бизнеса, имеющего интересы в России. Делегация ПИР-Центра была представлена президентом Владимиром Орловым, исполнительным директором Антоном Хлопковым, выпускающим редактором Индекса Безопасности Павлом Мансуровым и научным сотрудником Никитой Перфильевым.

Результаты: Участники встречи, выступая в личном качестве, смогли в непринужденной обстановке, без галстуков, обсудить основные вызовы энергетической безопасности, стоящие в данный момент на повестке дня. Неформальный характер мероприятия позволил его участникам открыто и полемично обсудить большинство аспектов международной энергетической безопасности, включая сопутствующие проблемы нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения, угрозы со стороны негосударственных субъектов, терроризма, защиты критической инфраструктуры, сложности двусторонних и многосторонних отношений между Россией и государствами Запада.

 

Обсуждение

 
 
loading