Projects

This project is completed. Information is not being updated


"We believe that PIR Center’s project dedicated to the Russian nuclear export will allow ...

Articles

Economic growth and the combined demographic, scientific and industrial potential of the BRICS countries have turned the bloc into a global leader. Other global players are paying close attention to this format of international cooperation. BRICS nations are already working closely in the area of fi...

The year 2012 marks the ten-year anniversary of UN General Assembly resolution 57/60 and the UN Secretary General's report on disarmament and non-proliferation education. At the very beginning of the 21st century, it became clear that a new wave of interest in atomic energy, dubbed the "nuclear rena...

Before the earthquake in Japan, Chinese nuclear power generation was expected to reach 86 GW by 2020.
Such a giant nuclear leap (25 reactors are already being built, and even more are planned) requires meticulous planning and preparation. Let us then consider the prospects for China's "big nuclear le...

Growing contradictions over the Unified Energy System of Central Asia are increasingly leading to disruption in the work of the region's power plants. One of the most promising solutions to this problem is alternative energy sources, which can compensate for the shortage of energy generation capacit...

Experts

  • Affiliation : Director, Center for Energy and Security Studies (CENESS)
  • Affiliation : Visiting Instructor, Dual Degree Master Program on WMD NonProliferation Studies, Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO University) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
complete list

Seminar “Prospects for International Cooperation of the Russian Nuclear Industry in the Context of Nuclear Energy Renaissance” 13.12.2007

PIR Cernter, Department of External Affairs of JSC "Atomstroyexport"

December 13, 2007 the PIR Center Advisory Board meeting, devoted to “Prospects for International Cooperation of the Russian Nuclear Industry in the Context of Nuclear Energy Renaissance”, was held. PIR Center Executive Director Anton Khlopkov, the Deputy Head of the Department of External Affairs of JSC Atomstroyexport Alexei Ubeev and Nuclear Counsellor of the French Embassy in the Russian Federation Denis Flori presented key reports.

Anton Khlopkov proved that if we consider the rate of commissioning of new facilities, which even in 2014-2015 will be twice as low as in 1980s, we can hardly talk of any “renaissance”. However, if we see how the attitudes towards nuclear energy have changed, especially in Europe, indeed we witness a new recognition of this type of energy. At the same time, the expert noted that political motives have become weaker compared to economic and environmental considerations. This tendency opened new possibilities for the Russian nuclear industry to regain its positions in the world, and particularly in Eastern Europe.

Representative of Atomstroyexport Alexei Ubeev defined the main trends of the world nuclear power market, which are seen as guidelines for the company's development. The expert also noted the company's priority market areas. The first trend, according to the expert, is the change of the market's structure and character of interactions between its main participants: “Instead of two or three dozen actors, who used to participate in the market for construction of nuclear power plants early, today this sector is ruled by four major alliances: Toshiba-Westinghouse, Areva-Mitsubishi, General Electric-Hitachi and Rosatom. It is not a matter of competition, but rather that of a certain division of “spheres of influence” and cooperation. The tender in Belen (Bulgaria) went to Atomstroyexport, but in consortium with Areva and Siemens. A lone player no longer has any business on the global markets. In some ways, we join hands, in others case we grow apart, but we do have any direct clashes and can resolve common issues together.” The second requirement for market success is product diversification and offer of optimal solutions for consumers. One of competitive edges for the Russian supplier could be offshore, and therefore mobile, nuclear power plants. The third requirement for realization of nuclear projects is the development of the necessary infrastructure, starting with preparation of required legislation and staff training to construction of roads and other sites. So, it is necessary to start working with the potential customer long before the initial part of the negotiations on construction of specific facilities. Surely the importance of political, environmental and economic factors remains.

Nuclear Counsellor of the Embassy of France in Russia Denis Flori touched upon the perspectives of the Russian-French cooperation in the sector of world nuclear energy. According to the diplomat, Russian and French companies have a common interest to collaborate on certain facilities, in the field of uranium mining and conversion of Spent Nuclear Fuel. It was generally agreed by the participants of the meeting that the solution of the third problem requires the efforts of the entire international community. Denis Flori mentioned the importance of preparing and signing an agreement between Russia and Euroatom as one of the main conditions for the successful Russian-French cooperation, as France has commitments to the European Union and its structures.

The participants of the meeting also discussed other issues, including possibilities and challenges of operating in China and India, restructuring the Russian nuclear complex due to establishment of the State Corporation Rosatom, interrelation between the development of peaceful nuclear market and nonproliferation, as well as the issues of guaranteed supplies of nuclear fuel for power plants.

Comments

 
 
loading

Проекты

Данный проект завершен. Данные не обновляются


«Мы рассчитываем, что проект ПИР-Центра, посвященный географии российского атома, позволит российским к...

Статьи

Роль ядерной энергетики как фактора обеспечения стабильного и устойчивого экономического и социально-политического развития будет возрастать. В случае долгосрочного и полномасштабного развития ядерной энергетики необходимо начать обсуждение мер, которые позволят достичь консенсуса в решении проблемы...

В статье рассмотрены программа Глобального партнерства против распространения оружия и материалов массового уничтожения и Международный научно-технический центр. На примере этих взаимосвязанных международных механизмов сделана попытка оценить потенциальные возможности оказать позитивное воздействие ...

Рост темпов национальных экономик, а также совокупный демографический, научный и промышленный потенциал выводит БРИКС в лидеры мирового развития и привлекает к этому формату межгосударственного сотрудничества пристальное внимание других игроков на международной арене. Несмотря на активное взаимодейс...

Сотрудничество России и Украины в области атомной энергетики, несомненно, основывается на стремлении стран наилучшим образом реализовать свои интересы. К сферам общих интересов относятся разработка урановых месторождений и добыча урана, решение проблемы с обращением с ОЯТ и развитие производственных...

Семинар «Перспективы международного сотрудничества российского атомно-промышленного комплекса в контексте ядерного ренессанса», 13 декабря 2007 г., Москва, Россия 13.12.2007

ПИР Центр, Управление внешних связей ЗАО «Атомстройэкспорт»

13 декабря 2007 г. состоялось заседание Экспертно-консультативного совета (ЭКС) ПИР-Центра по теме С основными докладами выступили исполнительный директор ПИР-Центра Антон Хлопков, заместитель начальника управления внешних связей ЗАО «Атомстройэкспорт» Алексей Убеев и советник по ядерным вопросам Посольства Франции в России Денис Флори.

По мнению Антона. Хлопкова, если рассматривать темпы ввода новых мощностей, которые даже в 2014-15 гг. будут в раза ниже, чем в 1980-е гг., то вряд ли можно говорить о «ренессансе» отрасли, но, если посмотреть на изменение отношения к атомной сфере, особенно в Европе, то действительно, можно говорить о новом признании этого вида энергетики. При этом, отметил эксперт, политические мотивы уходят на второй план относительно соображений экономической эффективности и экологической безопасности. Эта тенденция открыла и новые возможности для восстановления позиций российских атомщиков в мире, в частности в Восточной Европе.

Представитель Атомстройэкспорта Алексей Убеев обозначил тенденции мирового атомного рынка, на которые ориентируется компания и приоритеты  ее развития. Первое, что отметил эксперт, это изменение структуры рынка и характера взаимодействия его участников: «Вместо трех десятков игроков, которые были раньше, сейчас на рынке строительства атомных станций работают четыре крупных альянса Тошиба-ВестингаузАрева-МицубисиДженерал Электрик-Хитачи и Росатом. Скорее мы говорим не о конкуренции, а о неком разделе «сфер влияния» и о кооперации. В Белене (Болгария) конкурс выиграл Атомстрйэкспорт, но в консорциуме с Аревой и Сименсом. Сейчас одинокому игроку на и мировом рынке делать нечего. Где-то мы объединяемся, где-то мы разделяемся, но прямо мы нигде не сталкиваемся и вместе можем решать общие проблемы». Второе условие успешной работы на рынке - диверсификация услуг и предложение потреблению оптимальных для него решений. Одним из коньков российского поставщика могут стать плавучие, а значит мобильные, атомные электростанции. Третье условие реализации атомных проектов – это подготовка всей необходимой инфраструктуры: от создания необходимого законодательства и подготовки кадров до строительства дорог и других объектов, а в этом случае работа с потенциальным заказчиком должна начинаться задолго до начала подготовки контракта на строительство конкретного объекта. Безусловно, сохраняется важность политических, экологических, экономических и других рисков.

Советник по ядерным вопросам Посольства Франции Денис Флори остановился на перспективах российско-французского сотрудничества в мировой атомной энергетике. У российских и французских компаний, по мнению дипломата, есть общие интересы во взаимодействии на конкретных объектах, в добыче урана и в решении проблем переработки отработанного ядерного топлива. Последняя проблема, по общему мнению участников заседания, должна стать предметом усилий всего международного сообщества. Господин Флори обозначил важность подготовки и подписания соглашения между Россией и Евроатомом, как об одном из необходимых условий россйиско-французского сотрудничества, так как Франция связана обязательствами перед Евросоюзом и его структурами.

Участник и заседания обсудили возможности и проблемы работы в Китае и Индии, структурные преобразования российской атомной энергетики в связи с созданием Государственно Корпорации «Росатом», связь между развитием мирового атомного рынка и проблемами нераспространения и вопросы гарантированных поставок ядерного топлива на АЭС.

Обсуждение

 
 
loading