Experts

  • Position : Founder
  • Affiliation : PIR Center
complete list

Seminar “Russian Ameriсa: Hawaiian Pages. 200 Years After”, ICIS of Diplomatic Academy of the Russian MFA, Moscow 04.10.2018

The importance of efforts to normalize relations between the U.S. and Russia through the study of common cultural and historical heritage inspired the launching in 2016 of Dr. Vladimir Orlov research project about the Russian presence on the Hawaiian island of Kauai.

In November 2017, the Kauai Island celebrated the 200th anniversary of the Russian settlement. This coincided with the publication of Dr. Vladimir Orlov article “Hawaiian Don river flows” (in Russian) in International Affairs Journal. Since then, work on the project has entered a new stage; inter alia, new materials concerning the history of Russian presence on the island have been added to the PIR Center website, http://russian-kauai.pircenter.org. A photo exhibition of Russian Hawaii was also prepared. 

The coming months will see the launch of a series of events highlighting the history of Russian Hawaii. They include a seminar, a display of the exhibition to various audiences in Russia and the U.S., a presentation, and a publication of a “Russian Hawaii” calendar. Plans also include the release of a book.

The seminar will take place on October 4, 2018 from 4.30 pm to 6.30 pm. in Moscow, Institute of Contemporary International Studies, Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The working language of the seminar is Russian.

If you would like to participate in the seminar, please contact Ms. Yulia Tseshkovskaya to 8 (499) 940 09 83 or via e-mail tseshkovskaya@pircenter.org.

Comments

 
 
loading

Эксперты

  • Должность : Советник
  • Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Все эксперты

Cеминар «Русская Америка: гавайские страницы. 200 лет спустя», ИАМП Дипломатической академии МИД России, Москва 04.10.2018

Изучение общего наследия может оказаться одним из плодотворных направлений выстраивания конструктивного диалога между Россией и США. В 2016 году Владимир Орлов сформировал проект по исследованию российского присутствия на Гавайях в начале XIX века.

В ноябре 2017 г. на о. Кауаи торжественно отмечалось 200-летие строительства русских крепостей на этом острове. К данному событию в журнале «Международная жизнь» была опубликована статья Владимир Орлова «Течет гавайский Дон». После этого работа по проекту вошла в новую фазу – в частности, были размещены новые материалы на страницах сайта ПИР-Центра, посвященных истории присутствия России на островеhttp://russian-kauai.pircenter.org. Подготовлена фотовыставка о русских Гавайях.

В ближайшие месяцы запланирована серия мероприятий, рассказывающих о русских Гавайях: семинар, демонстрация фотовыставки в различных аудиториях России и США, презентации, выпуск календаря "Русские Гавайи". Также в планах подготовка книги.

Семинар состоится 4 октября с 16.30 до 18.30 в здании Института актуальных международных проблем Дипломатической академии МИД России.

Рабочий язык семинара – русский.

По вопросам участия в семинаре можете обращаться в оргкомитет по электронной почте tseshkovskaya@pircenter.org или по тел. 8 (499) 940 09 83.

Обсуждение

 
 
loading