Articles

Global Relations Forum (GRF) International Task Force

The Global Relations Forum (GRF) International Task Force on the Future of the Nuclear Deal with Iran was launched in 2016 to focus on maintaining the positive momentum of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) on Teheran’s nuclear program. The Task Force brought together 14 experts from Chi...

The dust is slowly settling after the announcement of the U.S. presidential election results – but the question of “Who is Mr. Trump?” remains open. The answer will determine the outlook for U.S.-Russian relations for years to come.

Vladimir Orlov, director of the Geneva-based Centre russe d’etudes ...

Addressing multiple new threats and challenges to the global security architecture in a cooperative, well-coordinated and result-oriented way is a huge task for the BRICS “Peace and Security” basket by itself. This report concentrates on five areas, both in "hard" and in "soft" security, such as fig...

The 2015 NPT Review Conference ended without consensus on a final document. The U.S., the UK and Canada blocked the document over objections to the paragraphs on the creation of а WMD-Free Zone in the Middle East. The Review Conference was also marked by violent disagreements between the P5 and the ...

All articles

News

29.11.2017

"The History of "Russian Hawaii" is a cocktail of the romance of the South Seas and accurate trading calculation, of strategic planning and of the adventurism, of the dizzying ambitions of individual players who have put everything at stake and of state policy of legitimism which has chilled them, of  the risk of single passionate players and evasion of the Emperor from any non-obvious risks. The history of the Russian flag raised on Kauai is also the history of the geopolitical game in the North Pacific Ocean, where Russia was playing a complex game with the young United States, counting on rivalry to move into a partnership where the British shadow always fluttered and where the final recipient of the products behind which was "Pulling" Kauai, appeared China, not to be broken by European powers yet", – Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, PIR Center Founder & Special Advisor.

20.10.2017

"All I have to say to Trump, abandon this reckless game before it’s too late! You are deluding yourself if you think you’ve been dealt all the trump cards. Your imaginary perfect is the enemy of the good. The JCPoA is a good deal. Signed not only by the United States, but also by six other countries (including Russia), it is working well. All the parties are abiding by their commitments. There can be no deal with Iran without Iran itself. Your imaginary grand bargain is a folly; it has no basis in reality." — Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, Member of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters, PIR Center founder.

19.10.2017

“I am pleased to welcome Adlan Margoev and Yuliya Tseshkovskaya joining our team. At the PIR Center, we have invariably staked on young, bright and creative colleagues”. — Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, Founder of the PIR Center. 

All News

Events

Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, Special Advisor to PIR Center speaks on the topic "Prospects of the Russian-American relations in the sphere of global security", Institute of International Relations and World History, Lobachevsky State University of Nizhny Novgoro 30.05.2017
All events

Expert

Orlov, Vladimir A. image
Name: Orlov, Vladimir A.
City: Moscow
Affiliation: PIR Center
Position: Special Advisor
Expertise:
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Iranian nuclear program
Russian-US security relations
Foreign policy of the Russian Federation
Nuclear Weapons-Free-Zone in the Middle East
International security policy of the Russian Federation
Russian-European security relations
Russian foreign policy and the Middle East (including the Gulf region)
Nuclear nonproliferation in the Middle East
BRICS's perspectives on peace and security
Assessment of best international practices on fighting corruption 
Building new European security architecture
Biography :

Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov is expert in international security and Russia’s foreign policy. His research areas include major threats and challenges to international security, primarily, nuclear nonproliferation.

Dr. Orlov founded PIR Center, a private think-tank dealing with global security and foreign policy, in 1994 and was the institute’s Director (President) until April 2015 when he decided to step down as PIR Center’s CEO while remaining on Center’s Executive Board and concentrating on specific nuclear nonproliferation and other projects as Center’s Special Advisor.

Since 2014, Dr. Orlov is the Head of the Center for Global Trends and International Organizations at the Diplomatic Academy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

Dr. Orlov is a member of the UN Secretary General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters (since 2015).

Dr. Orlov is a member of the Trialogue Club International, which he founded in 1993. He is the founder (in 2006) of the Centre russe d'etudes politiques, a Geneva-based research and consultancy association.

Dr. Orlov is a member (since 2014) of the Advisory Board of the Government of the Russian Federation. He is a member (since 2014) of the Advisory Board on the Corruption Prevention under the Anti-Corruption Directorate at the President’s Office of the Russian Federation.

He is a member of the Russian National Committee for BRICS Studies Research Council; Advisor to the Russian delegation at the NPT Review Conferences (2010; 2015) and at the sessions of the NPT Preparatory Committee (2012-2014); a member of the Russian Council of Foreign and Defense Policy (SVOP); a member of International Nuclear Energy Academy (INEA); a member of the Russian Pugwash Committee under the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS); a member of the Washington Quarterly Editorial Board.

In 1994, Dr. Orlov founded Security Index journal (until 2007 published under the title Yaderny Kontrol). He was its editor-in-chief until 2015, and currently is a member of journal’s Editorial Board.

Dr. Orlov is constantly engaged in teaching and educational activities, giving lectures and expert comments on Russian foreign policy and on nuclear nonproliferation within Russia and abroad. His initiative culminated in establishment (in 2016) of the International Dual Degree MA Program in Nonproliferation and Global Security Studies – a joint project by the Moscow State Institute of International Affairs (MGIMO) of the Russian Foreign Ministry, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey and PIR Center. He serves as academic consultant to the program and teaches Russian foreign and security policy as well as nuclear nonproliferation at MGIMO. He also gives lectures in Geneva, Bishkek, and Monterey. Vladimir Orlov is executive editor and co-author of the Nuclear Nonproliferation Textbook in two volumes.

He is the author (or coauthor) of more than a dozen books and monographs and nearly three hundred research papers, essays, and columns. Articles by Dr. Orlov have been published in Security Index journal, International Affairs (Mezhdunarodnaya Zhizn) journal, Russia in Global Affairs magazine, the Washington Quarterly journal, and Seguridad Internacional journal, among others. His columns and comments regularly appear at the Kommersant daily newspaper. Dr. Orlov is on Twitter (Orlov_pircenter) and Facebook (VladimirAOrloff), and his blog is on PIR Center’s website (www.pircenter.org/en). (04/17)

Publications archive

Full biography

Expert's commentaries

A century after the First World War began, Europe – in a broader meaning of a Euro-Atlantic space from Vancouver to Vladivostok – and its security are now shaken by the New Cold War. It is a bizarre cold war as the bipolar world order – the type of world order accustomed to cold war – was gone 25 ye...

Twenty years ago the issue of nuclear weapons on Ukraine’s territory, and of security assurances to be given to Ukraine in return for becoming a non-nuclear weapon state, was at the center of attention of politicians, diplomats, and the international expert community. It seemed at the time that the ...

All articles
loading

Статьи

Международная рабочая группа Форума по международным отношениям

Международная рабочая группа Форума по международным отношениям по будущему СВПД была созвана в 2016 г. для поддержания положительной динамики, сложившейся после согласования Совместного всеобъемлющего плана действий по ядерной программе Тегерана. Рабочая группа объединила 14 экспертов из Великобрит...

Страсти после объявления итогов президентских выборов в США потихоньку успокаиваются. Но вопрос «Кто Вы, президент Трамп?» остается открытым. Ответ на него касается и перспектив российско-американских отношений на ближайшие годы.

По мнению Владимира Орлова, директора женевского Centre russe d’etudes...

Решение многочисленных новых угроз и вызовов глобальной архитектуры безопасности на основе хорошо скоординированного и ориентированного на результат сотрудничества – огромная задача для мира и безопасности стран БРИКС само по себе. В докладе основное внимание уделяется пяти областям «мягкой» и «жест...

C 28 июня по 1 июля 2016 г. в Нью-Йорке прошла 66-я сессия Консультативного совета при Генеральном секретаре ООН по вопросам разоружения. На повестке дня стояли вопросы ядерного нераспространения, создания безъядерной зоны на Ближнем Востоке, а также связь между оружием массового уничтожения, киберб...

Обзорная конференция ДНЯО 2015 г., завершившаяся без принятия Заклю- чительного документа, ярко продемонстрировала основные вызовы, стоящие перед режимом ядерного нераспространения. В целом, их можно подразделить на четыре основные категории:

Во‑первых, сохраняющиеся сложности с выполнением и униве...

Все Статьи

Новости

04.07.2017

«Имеется целый перечень ключевых проблем международной безопасности, где России интересно и важно говорить с Соединенными Штатами. Хочет ли этого Трамп? Могу предположить, что хочет. Сможет ли он выйти на этот стратегический разговор в Гамбурге – думаю, что нет. Пока формат Гамбурга не позволяет подробно пройтись по всем этим вопросам. Кроме того, насколько я вижу, команда Трампа еще не подготовила для него все нужное досье для такого полномасштабного диалога», —  заведующий Центром глобальных проблем и международных организаций Дипломатической академии МИД России, основатель и советник ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов.

22.05.2017

«Школа предлагает комплексный и многосторонний подход к изучению проблематики международной безопасности. Я получил колоссальный опыт и знания, а также стимул к личному самообразованию в международных отношениях. Полученные знания однозначно буду адаптировать на предприятии при обучении сотрудников служб безопасности», – заместитель начальника отдела физической защиты и безопасности Института атомной энергии Национального ядерного центра Республики Казахстан Даулет Байсаганов.

10.05.2017

«Надо сделать успешный «пилотный проект» для новой Европы. Крупный, амбициозный. Таким проектом должно и может стать восстановление Украины. В нем должно быть начертано три «обязательных к исполнению» столпа», — советник ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов, независимый украинский аналитик Евгений Шаров.

Все Новости

События

Советник ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов выступает с лекцией "Перспективы российско-американских отношений по глобальной безопасности", Институт международных отношений и мировой истории, Нижегородский государственный университет имени Н. И. Лобачевского 30.05.2017
Советник ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов выступает с лекцией "Strategic Relations between Russia and Iran: How They Affect Global and Regional Security", Миддлберийский институт международных исследований в Монтерее, США 09.03.2017
Все События

Эксперт

Орлов Владимир Андреевич image
ФИО: Орлов Владимир Андреевич
Местоположение: Москва
Место работы: ПИР-Центр
Должность: Советник
Экспертизы:
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерная программа Ирана
Российско-американские отношения в области безопасности
Внешняя политика Российской Федерации
Зона, свободная от оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке
Политика Российской Федерации в области международной безопасности
Российско-европейские отношения в области безопасности
Российская внешняя политика и Ближний Восток (включая Персидский залив)
Ядерное нераспространение на Ближнем Востоке
Перспективы БРИКС в вопросах мира и безопасности
Оценка мирового опыта противодействия коррупции
Пути построения новой архитектуры европейской безопасности
Биография:

В.А. Орлов является специалистом в области международной безопасности и внешней политики Российской Федерации. В сферу его научных интересов входит изучение современных вызовов и угроз международной безопасности, прежде всего - нераспространения ядерного оружия.

В 1994 г. В.А. Орлов основал ПИР-Центр, превратив его за 21 год своего бессменного руководства (в качестве директора, а затем президента Центра) в ведущий российский и международный независимый научно-исследовательский институт в области международной безопасности. В 2015 г. В.А. Орлов принял решение завершить руководство ПИР-Центром, при этом оставаясь советником ПИР-Центра, а также членом Совета организации.  

С 2014 г. В.А. Орлов возглавил Центр глобальных проблем и международных организаций Дипломатической Академии МИД РФ.

В 2014 г. Генеральный секретарь ООН назначил В.А. Орлова членом своего Консультативного совета по вопросам разоружения.

В.А Орлов - основатель (в 1993 г.), ныне член Международного клуба Триалог. Основатель (в 2006 г.) научно-исследовательской ассоциации Centre russe d'etudes politiques со штаб-квартирой в Женеве (Швейцария), в деятельности которой продолжает принимать активное участие.

Член Экспертного совета Правительства РФ (с 2014 г.). Член Экспертного совета по противодействию коррупции при Управлении Президента РФ по вопросам противодействия коррупции (с 2014 г.). С 2010 г. по настоящее время участвует в работе делегации Российской Федерации на Обзорных конференциях и сессиях Подготовительного комитета Обзорной конференции по рассмотрению действия ДНЯО в качестве Советника, последний раз – в ходе Обзорной конференции 2015 г.

Член Научного совета при Национальном комитете по исследованию БРИКС. Член Совета по внешней и оборонной политике (СВОП). Член Международной академии по ядерной энергии (INEA). Член Российского Пагуошского комитета при Президиуме РАН. Член Редакционной коллегии журнала Washington Quarterly.

В 1994 г. В.А. Орлов создал первый российский журнал в области нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения – Ядерный Контроль, став его главным редактором. С 2007 г. журнал получил новое название - Индекс Безопасности. Всего под редакцией В.А. Орлова вышло 112 номеров журнала. В 2015 г. В.А. Орлов завершил руководство Индексом Безопасности в качестве его главного редактора, оставаясь при этом членом его Редакционной коллегии (с 1994 г. – по наст.вр.). 

В.А. Орлов активно занимается преподавательской и просветительской деятельностью, читая лекции по внешней политике России и по проблемам нераспространения ОМУ в России и за рубежом (Москва, Женева, Бишкек, Монтерей и др.). Преподает в МГИМО МИД РФ, где при его деятельном участии в 2016 г. была сформирована магистратура двойного диплома «Нераспространение ОМУ и глобальная безопасность», в партнерстве с Миддлберийским институтом международных исследований (Калифорния) и ПИР-Центром. В.А. Орлов читает в МГИМО три курса по политике Российской Федерации в области международной безопасности и по нераспространению ядерного оружия, одновременно являясь научным консультантом магистерской программы. Является ответственным редактором и одним из авторов учебника «Ядерное нераспространение» - двухтомника, по которому обучаются студенты и аспиранты в вузах России и ряда других государств.

Являясь постоянным автором журнала Индекс Безопасности (ранее Ядерный Контроль), В.А. Орлов публикует свои взгляды в российских и зарубежных периодических изданиях, в частности, в журналах Международная Жизнь, Россия в Глобальной Политике, The Washington Quarterly, Seguridad Internacional, газете Коммерсант и др. В.А. Орлов ведет блог на сайте ПИР-Центра www.pircenter.org и представлен в социальных сетях: твиттере twitter.com/Orlov_pircenter, где излагает свои экспертные оценки, и фейсбуке www.facebook.com/VladimirAOrloff, где делится впечатлениями от путешествий. (04/17) 

 

Архив публикаций

Полная биография

Комментарии эксперта

20 лет назад вопрос о ядерном оружии на территории Украины и, соответственно, о гарантиях безопасности Украине в случае получения ею безъядерного статуса находился в центре внимания политиков, дипломатов и международного экспертного сообщества. Тогда же, казалось бы, он был решен раз и навсегда: сна...

Владимир Орлов

Презентация посвящена продвижению сотрудничества в сфере атомной энергетики, физической ядерной безопасности и ядерного нераспространения на пространстве СНГ и возможностям ПИР-Центра в данной области. Представлены образовательные, информационные и аналитические проекты организации   ...

Все Статьи
loading