Articles

In this issue of Russia Confidential, we continue our review of highlights of the 4th Moscow Conference on International Security attended by leading security experts, military specialists, and decision-makers from 86 countries.
The focus of this issue is on information security - which was for the f...

On April 26-27 an event took place in Moscow that brought together the leading military specialists and practitioners in the field of international security from 86 countries - the Russian MoD’s VI Moscow Conference on International Security (MCIS). While last year’s conference was attended by more ...

Against the backdrop of events in Ukraine and the serious crisis in relations between Russia and the West, which have systemic causes, it is becoming increasingly clear that Europe's current security architecture requires reevaluation. The article's authors, Evgeny Buzhinsky and Oleg Shakirov stress...

All articles

News

27.06.2019

“Autonomous systems are gradually displacing humans from the battlefield, and in many aspects, this can be a boon to the military, who are exposed to less risk. However, at the same time, humans transfer to artificial intelligence (AI) a part of their powers, and consequently a part of their responsibility. According to experts, neural networks will probably never learn to explain their decisions to humans. This can become a serious problem once AI is involved in such areas as intelligence, data analysis, communications and control, scenario development, and in the long run decision making.” – Director of PIR Center’s Emerging Technologies and Global Security Project Vadim Kozyulin.

18.05.2017

“The structured dialogue on current and future challenges and risks to security launched within the OSCE is not yet a negotiation on a regime of conventional arms control in Europe, but an attempt to develop a shared understanding of what could be its foundation in the current conditions. Russia has supported this process, yet it specified that unless NATO drops its deterrence policy there could hardly be any progress,” —  Oleg Shakirov, PIR Center consultant.

31.08.2016

“The entire European security system, including its military dimension, should be modernized. Here it may be reasonable to come back to Russia’s proposal to draft a comprehensive European Security Treaty, once put forward by the Russian President Dmitry Medvedev. This document could embrace all security dimensions, including the military one, restore the  system  of  control, which  is in  fact lost  now,  over conventional  armed  forces, and  dramatically  improve  the  system  of  confidence- and security-building measures”, – Evgeny Buzhinskiy, Chairman of the PIR Center’s Executive Board.

All News

Events

Meeting in the framework of the seminars "Midweek Brainstorming Sessions" on the topic “Perspectives of the control over conventional weapons in Europe”. The keynote speaker will be Oleg Shakirov, PIR Center Consultant 18.04.2017
All events

Expert

Shakirov Oleg I. image
Name: Shakirov Oleg I.
City: Moscow
Affiliation: PIR Center
Position: Consultant
Expertise:
European security
OSCE
Digital diplomacy
Biography :

Graduated from the South Ural State university, international department (2010). In 2015, recieved Master's degree from the John Hopkins Schoool of Advanced International Studies. In 2011-2012, worked as a news editor at the International Broadcasting section of RIA Novosti. PIR Center intern in September-December 2012. In summer 2014, interned with the UN Department for Political Affairs. Expert on Foreign Policy and Security, Center for Strategic Research. 06/17

loading

Статьи

В этом номере Russia Confidential мы продолжаем фиксировать ключевые моменты выступлений недавно состоявшейся в Москве VI Московской конференции по международной безопасности, собравшей ведущих экспертов, военных специалистов и практиков в области безопасности из 86 стран мира.
Темами этого номера ст...

Не так давно в Москве состоялось событие, собравшее ведущих военных специалистов и практиков в сфере международной безопасности из 86 стран мира – VI Московская конференция по международной безопасности. Если в прошлом году в аналогичной конференции приняли участие более 700 (в 2015-м - более 400) д...

На фоне событий вокруг Украины и серьезного кризиса в отношениях России и Запада, причины которого носят системный характер, становится все очевиднее, что существующая архитектура европейской безопасности нуждается в переосмыслении. Авторы статьи Евгений Бужинский и Олег Шакиров подчеркивают, однако...

Решение проблемы контроля над обычными вооружениями в Европе (КОВЕ) необходимо сегодня как в военно-политическом, так и в идеологическом плане. Эта проблема касается собственно Европы, всего постсоветского пространства и оказывает фундаментальное влияние по линии отношений Россия–НАТО. Появление нов...

Все Статьи

Новости

27.06.2019

«Автономные системы постепенно вытесняют человека с поля боя, и во многом это можно считать благом для военных, которые подвергаются меньшему риску. Однако, при этом человек передает искусственному интеллекту (ИИ) часть своих полномочий, а с ними – часть ответственности. Специалисты говорят, что, вероятно, нейронные сети никогда не научатся объяснять человеку свои решения. Это может стать серьезной проблемой по мере привлечения ИИ в такие сферы, как разведка, анализ данных, связь и управление, разработка сценариев, а в перспективе – и принятие решений», – директор проекта ПИР-Центра по новым технологиям и международной безопасности Вадим Козюлин.

05.05.2017

“Начатый в рамках ОБСЕ структурированный диалог о нынешних и будущих вызовах и угрозах безопасности — пока не переговоры о режиме контроля над обычными вооружениями в Европе, но попытка прийти к общему пониманию, на каком основании он мог бы строиться в современных условиях. Россия поддержала этот процесс, однако уточнила, что прогресса вряд ли удастся достичь при продолжении политики сдерживания со стороны НАТО”, — консультант ПИР-Центра Олег Шакиров.

31.08.2016

«Совершенствованию подлежит вся система обеспечения европейской безопасности, в том числе ее военного аспекта. И здесь, наверное, целесообразно вернуться к российскому предложению о разработке всеобъемлющего Договора о европейской безопасности, с которым в свое время выступил Президент РФ Дмитрий Медведев. Данный документ мог бы охватить все аспекты безопасности, включая военный, восстановить фактически утраченную ныне систему контроля над обычными вооруженными силами и кардинально усовершенствовать систему мер укрепления доверия и безопасности», – председатель Совета ПИР-Центра Евгений Бужинский.


Все Новости

События

Заседание из серии "Научная среда ПИР-Центра" на тему "Перспективы контроля над обычными вооружениями в Европе". Докладчик: консультант ПИР-Центра Олег Шакиров. 18.04.2017
Все События

Эксперт

Шакиров Олег Игоревич image
ФИО: Шакиров Олег Игоревич
Местоположение: Москва
Место работы: ПИР-Центр
Должность: Консультант
Экспертизы:
Европейская безопасность
ОБСЕ
Цифровая дипломатия
Биография:

Выпускник международного факультета Южно-Уральского государственного университета (2010). В 2015 году закончил магистратуру Johns Hopkins Schoool of Advanced International Studies. В 2011-2012 гг. работал выпускающим редактором отдела Иновещания РИА Новости. В сентябре - декабре 2012 г. проходил стажировку в ПИР-Центре. Летом 2014 года прошёл стажировку в Департаменте по политическим вопросам Секретариата ООН. Эксперт направления "Внешняя политика и безопасность" в Центре стратегических разработок. 06/17

loading