Articles

Russia consistently advocates broader access to the benefits of peaceful nuclear energy for the States Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons and promotes international cooperation in this sphere in compliance with Article IV of the Non-Proliferation Treaty. We believe tha...

We consider the prevention of proliferation of nuclear weapons a primary objective for the States Parties to the NPT; only through achieving it, a more secure and stable world, in particular, a world free of nuclear weapons, as well as step-by-step and effective social and economic development of St...

Nuclear disarmament along with nuclear non-proliferation and peaceful use of nuclear energy is one of the three pillars and main elements of the NPT. The Russian Federation does it utmost to fulfill its relevant obligations under the Treaty.

Full text of the statement.

It is beyond doubt that preserving and strengthening of the NPT regime serve fundamental interests of all its States Parties. Therefore, our common objective is to ensure careful treatment of the NPT and to collectively respond to challenges it faces. Any attempts to raise the issue of tradeoffs and...

An efficient nuclear non-proliferation regime plays a key role in maintaining the international peace and stability as well as moving towards a world free of nuclear weapons. The application of the IAEA safeguards pursuant to paragraph 1 of Article III of the NPT is an important element of ensuring ...

All articles

News

01.08.2018

“The NPT is the foundation of our life. It is the most important contemporary international treaty. There is just no treaty more important than the NPT. We must fight for this treaty at all costs; we are doomed without it. We must talk more about the NPT so that everybody knows about it,” – Ambassador Roland Timerbaev, PIR Center Advisory Board Member, one of the negotiators of the NPT.

30.06.2016

"During the last two and a half months our initiative has received further development. I think, the reaction to our proposals is rather good by the Conference on disarmament standards. More than a dozen countries, including very influential ones, have supported us. The vast majority says that the initiative is interesting and there is a feeling that if we ensure consensus, these countries join it with enthusiasm," – said Mikhail Ulyanov, Director of the Department for Nonproliferation and Arms control, the Russian Foreign Ministry.


19.05.2015

“In 2007, Russia and the United States came up with a joint proposal to impart a multilateral character to the Treaty on the Elimination of Intermediate-Range and Shorter-Range Missiles. Eight years later, isn’t it the time to return to this idea?” - Andrey Baklitskiy, PIR Center “Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation” Program Director.

All News

Expert

Ulyanov Mikhail Ivanovich image
Name: Ulyanov Mikhail Ivanovich
Affiliation: Director, Department for non-proliferation and arms control, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
Expertise:
Political and military aspects of international security
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Iranian nuclear program
Russian nuclear policy
Foreign policy of the Russian Federation
Nuclear Weapons-Free-Zone in the Middle East
Nuclear disarmament
Biography :

Director of Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. 1980 - graduated from Moscow State Institute of History and Archives. Speaks English. Diplomatic rank - Minister Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary. Married, has a daughter. Since 1980 worked in the Department of International Relations of the MFA in Moscow, Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the United Nations in New York, Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in Brussels. 2002-2004 - Head of Division of the Department of International Relations. 2004-2011 - Deputy Director of the Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament. 2004-2006 - Head of the Bilateral Implementation Commission of the Treaty between the Russian Federation and the United States of America on Strategic Offensive Reductions. 2006-2011 - Head of the Delegation of the Russian Federation to the Vienna Negotiations on Military Security and Arms Control. March 2011- April 2014 - Director of Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament. Since April 2014 - Director of Department for non-proliferation and arms control.

loading

Статьи

Россия последовательно выступает за широкий доступ государств-членов ДНЯО к благам мирного атома и развитие международного сотрудничества в этой области в соответствии со Статьей IV ДНЯО. Исходим из того, что альтернативы атомной энергетике в мире нет.

Полный текст выступления

Рассматриваем предотвращение распространения ядерного оружия в качестве краеугольной задачи, стоящей перед странами-участницами ДНЯО, без решения которой невозможно обеспечить более безопасный и стабильный мир, в том числе мир без ядерного оружия, гарантировать поступательное и эффективное социально...

Ядерное разоружение наряду с ядерным нераспространением и мирным использованием атомной энергетики является одной из опор и главных составляющих ДНЯО. Россия со всей ответственностью подходит к выполнению соответствующих обязательств по Договору.

Полный текст выступления

Наша Конференция призвана подвести итоги функционирования режима нераспространения ядерного оружия за прошедшие пять лет и определить пути дальнейшего укрепления Договора, который вот уже сорок пять лет по праву считается одним из ключевых международно-правовых инструментов укрепления стратегической...

Эффективное функционирование режима нераспространения ядерного оружия играет ключевую роль в поддержании международного мира и стабильности, а также продвижении к миру свободному от ядерного оружия. Важным элементом обеспечения режима нераспространения является применение гарантий Международным аген...

Все Статьи

Новости

01.08.2018

«ДНЯО – это основа жизни. Это самый главный международный договор современности. Более важного договора просто нет. За этот договор нужно бороться изо всех сил, без него мы все пропадем. Нужно больше говорить о ДНЯО, чтобы все о нем знали», – Роланд Тимербаев, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра, один из авторов Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия.

30.06.2016

«За два с половиной месяца наша инициатива получила дальнейшее развитие. Реакция на наши предложения по меркам Конференции по разоружению, как мне кажется, неплохая. Нас поддержали более десятка стран, в том числе очень влиятельных. Подавляющее большинство говорят, что инициатива интересная и есть ощущение, что, если будет складываться консенсус, эти страны к нему охотно присоединятся», – директор Департамента по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями МИД России Михаил Ульянов.


19.05.2015

«В 2007 г. Россия и США выступили с совместным предложением о придании Договору о ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности многостороннего характера. Восемь лет спустя не пришло ли время вернуться к этой идее?», – директор программы ПИР-Центра «Россия и ядерное нераспространение» Андрей Баклицкий.

Все Новости

Эксперт

Ульянов Михаил Иванович image
ФИО: Ульянов Михаил Иванович
Место работы: директор, Департамент по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями, Министерство иностранных дел РФ
Экспертизы:
Военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерная программа Ирана
Ядерная политика России
Внешняя политика Российской Федерации
Зона, свободная от оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке
Ядерное разоружение
Биография:

В 1980 году окончил Московский государственный историко-архивный институт. Владеет английским языком. 25 мая 2006 года ему присвоен дипломатический ранг Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посланника 2 класса. В системе МИД - с 1980 года. Имеет большой опыт работы в центральном аппарате Министерства и за рубежом: работал в Историко-дипломатическом управлении (1980-1986 гг.), Управлении/Департаменте международных организаций (1986-1990 гг., 1995-1998 гг., 2002-2004 гг.), в Постоянном представительстве СССР/России при ООН в Нью-Йорке (1990-1995 гг.) и в Постоянном представительстве России при НАТО в Брюсселе (1998-2002 гг.). С января 2004 года - заместитель директора Департамента по вопросам безопасности и разоружения. С сентября 2006 года - руководитель российской делегации на венских переговорах по вопросам военной безопасности и контроля над вооружениями. С марта 2011 года по апрель 2014 года- директор Департамента по вопросам безопасности и разоружения. С апреля 2014 года - директор Департамента по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями.

loading