Expert

Gore, Albert image
Name: Gore, Albert
Affiliation: American politician and philanthropist
Biography :

Albert “Al” Gore is an American politician and philanthropist. He is a former Vice President of the United States (1993-2001), and he ran for president twice (1988, 2000). From 1977-1985, he was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from the state of Tennessee, and in 1984 he was elected as a U.S. Senator from Tennessee, where he was reelected in 1990. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007.

From the time he graduated Harvard University in 1969 to 1971, Gore served in the Army as a journalist. After he returned to the States, he worked as a reporter and then a columnist for the newspaper The Tennessean. While in the Senate, he sat on the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, the Rules and Administration, the Energy and Commerce, the Science and Technology, and the Armed Services Committees. In 1992, he became the Vice President of the United States after a successful presidential campaign with Bill Clinton; they were reelected in 1996. In 1993, Gore and Russian Prime Minister Viktor Chernomyrdin signed the Russian-American intergovernmental agreement on the conversion of highly-enriched uranium, better known as the “Megatons to Megawatts” agreement.

In 2001, Gore became the Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Los Angeles-based financial services holding company Metropolitan West Financial. He was also the president of the American tv channel “Current,” a board member at Apple Computer, and a senior advisor to Google. Gore is well known as an environmental activist and is the author of multiple books.

loading

Эксперт

Гор Альберт image
ФИО: Гор Альберт
Место работы: Американский политик и общественный деятель
Биография:

Американский политик и общественный деятель. Бывший вице-президент США (1993-2001). Дважды (1988, 2000) выдвигался как кандидат в президенты США от Демократической партии. С 1977 по 1985 годы - член Палаты представителей Конгресса США от штата Теннеси. В 1984 году был сенатором от штата Теннеси. Лауреат Нобелевской премии мира 2007 года.

После окончания Гарвардского университета в 1969 и до 1971 гг. служил военным журналистом в армии. Вернувшись, он начал работать репортером, а затем и обозревателем газеты The Tennessean. С 1977 по 1985 год Гор был членом Палаты представителей Конгресса США от штата Теннеси. В 1984 году политик стал сенатором от штата Теннеси, как и его отец, а в 1990 году его переизбрали. Гор входил в состав нескольких комитетов сената, а именно по делам вооруженных сил, по вопросам администрации и законодательных предположений, по торговле, науке и транспорту. В 1992 г. стал визе-президентом США после победы на президентских выборах Билла Клинтона. В 1996 году Клинтон и Гор были переизбраны на второй срок. В 1993 году Гор и председатель правительства РФ Виктор Черномырдин подписали российско-американское межправительственное соглашение об использовании высокообогащенного урана, получившее неофициальное название "Мегатонны - в мегаватты".

В 2001 году Гор стал заместителем председателя совета директоров лос-анджелесского финансового холдинга Metropolitan West Financial. Он также упоминался в качестве президента американского телеканала Current, члена совета директоров компании Apple Computer и неофициального советника-менеджера компании Google. Гор известен как активный защитник окружающей среды. Гор является автором нескольких книг.

loading