Articles

Way Out of the Arms Control Pandemic image

This research paper attempts to place nuclear disarmament and arms control in the context of the sustainable development agenda. In particular, the paper examines the possibility of applying the experience and specific mechanisms of the 1997 Kyoto Protocol to create new incentives for nuclear arms c...

 

PIR Center conducted an interview with Dr. Dayan Jayatilleka, Senior Advisor on International Relations to the Leader of the Opposition and Daily FT Columnist (Colombo, Sri Lanka). Since March 2022, Dayan Jayatilleka has been a member of the PIR Center Advisory Board.

In an interview with him, we ...

In an Vladimir Orlov's interview, director of PIR Center, with Jorge Ferrer, a journalist of the Spanish newspaper El Mundo, the issues of the risks of using nuclear weapons against the background of the Ukrainian conflict are touched upon. We also talked about how the Chekhov rifle differs from nu...

PIR Center conducted an interview with Professor Mustafa Kibaroglu, Ph.D in International Relations, Dean of the Faculty of Economics, Administrative and Social Sciences at the MEF University in Istanbul, a PIR Center Advisory Board member. We discussed the possibility of exporting U.S. nuclear tec...

Today, on May 20, Colonel General, PIR Center Board Member, Advisor to ANO «Aspect-conversion» Evgeny Petrovich Maslin would have turned 85 years old. He was going to celebrate this anniversary as beautifully and cheerfully as he did 5 years ago, when he celebrated his 80th birthday... On this speci...

All articles

Experts

Kuchinov, Vladimir P. image
City : Moscow, Russia
Affiliation : Member of the Central Board, Nuclear Society of Russia
Expertise :
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Nuclear energy sector
Nuclear safety
Biography :

In 2008-2018 - Advisor to the Director General, Rosatom State Corporation for Atomic Energy. In 1998-2002 - Deputy Head, since 2002 - Head of the Department of International and Economic Cooperation of the Ministry of Atomic Energy and the Federal Agency for Atomic Energy. In 2004-2008 Head of the section for International cooperation of Federal Agency on Atomic Energy of the Russian Federation. In 1991-1994 - Advisor to the Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the International Organizations in Vienna. Employee of the IAEA in 1980-1985 and in 1994-1998. In 1969 he graduated from the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute as an engineer-physicist. 

Berls, Robert E. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : Senior Advisor, Nuclear Materials Security Program, Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI)
Position : Director
Expertise :
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Nuclear terrorism
Biography :

Berls served 26 years in the U.S. Air Force, rising to the rank of colonel. During the 1980s he served as air attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Moscow. He served as special assistant to the Secretary of Energy for Russia/NIS programs, during the first Clinton Administration. Before joining NTI, he was vice president for business development and government relations for a U.S. oil company. Having joined NTI in its first year, Berls has directed or helped manage all of NTI's projects in Russia that have addressed nuclear, chemical and biological threats. Member of the PIR Center EKS Working Group on International Cooperation in Mass Destruction Weapon Nonproliferation and Physical Nuclear Safety since 2012.

Cheban Alexander image
City : Odessa, Ukraine
Affiliation : Odessa Center for Nonproliferation
Position : Research Fellow
Biography :

Earned PhD in Political Science from Odessa National Mechnikov University. The topic of dissertation is connected with reasons of nuclear weapons proliferation in the Middle East. Participant of a number of international conferences on nuclear disarmament and global security problems. Participant of Summer School-2011 of the Russian Center for Policy Studies (PIR Сenter). PIR Center Intern in 2012. Author of publications devoted to the problems of nuclear proliferation and disarmament. Victor of PIR Сenter review competition for the film “Nuclear Tipping Point”. The sphere of scientific interests covers the problems of nuclear proliferation and disarmament, questions of theMiddle Eastregional security. Member of the PIR Center EKS Working Group on International Cooperation in Mass Destruction Weapon Nonproliferation and Physical Nuclear Safety in 2012.

Buzhinskiy, Evgeny P. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : PIR Center
Position : Chairman of the Executive Board
Expertise :
Political and military aspects of international security
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Military cooperation
Russia-NATO relations
START Treaty
Missile Defense
Military Use of the Outer Space
European security
Biography :

Lieutenant-General (Retired), Ph.D. Military Sciences. In the Armed Services since 1968. Graduated from the Military Institute of Foreign Languages, M.V. Frunze Military academy. 1976-1992 – served in different positions in the General Staff of the USSR and Russian Federation. From 1992 to 2002 – served in positions of: Senior Officer, Deputy Head of Direction, Head of Direction, Deputy Head of Department, Head of the International Treaties Department of  the Russian Ministry of Defense. Promoted to the rank of Major-General in 2000, to the rank of Lt.-General – in 2003. In 2002 he was appointed on the position of Head of the International Treaties Department – Deputy Head of the Main Directorate of International Military Cooperation of the Russian Federation Ministry of Defense. Retired from active duty in 2009. In 2009-2017 - PIR Center Consultant, then Senior vice-president. PIR Center's Chairman of the Executive Board since 2014. From 2016 – Associate professor and Head of Center for Applied Political-Military Research of School of World Politics, M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University.  Deputy CEO of "Vega Radio Engineering Corporation" from  2009 to 2018. Vice-President of Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC).  Expertise: arms control, political and military aspects of international security, non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, military use of the outer space, Russia-NATO, Russia-U.S., Russia-China relations. 10/20

Bibliography

Evgeny P. Buzhinsky celebrates his 70th birthday

 

loading

Статьи

Перспективы создания зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия, в Центральной и Восточной Европе image

История идеи создания в Центральной и Восточной Европе зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия (ЗСЯО в ЦВЕ), тянется ещё с начала холодной войны. Тем не менее, за все эти годы проект формальной денуклеаризации региона так и не был реализован в силу неблагоприятных внешних обстоятельств. Цель данной научн...

Консультант ПИР-Центра, доцент Ноттингемского университета в Малайзии, кандидат исторических наук Юлия Свешникова прокомментировала для ПИР-Центра прошедшие трехсторонние переговоры президентов России, Турции и Ирана в Тегеране. Мы с ней обсудили результаты данной встречи, с какими проблемами и выз...

Владимир Орлов, Сергей Семенов
Обзорная конференция ДНЯО: пределы возможного image

Обзорная конференция Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия 2022 г., унаследованная от ковидного 2020 года и неоднократно откладывавшаяся по причине бушевавшей пандемии, открывается в Нью-Йорке 1 августа. Четыре недели работы делегаций государств – членов ДНЯО, - что это будет: прорыв к более ...

ПИР-Центр провел интервью с Даяном Джаятиллекой, доктором наук, обозревателем деловой газеты «Daily FT» (Коломбо, Шри-Ланка), бывшим Чрезвычайным и Полномочным послом Шри-Ланки в Российской Федерации (2018–2020). С марта 2022 года Даян Джаятиллека является членом Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра.

В ин...

Усилия ядерной пятерки по обеспечению стратегической стабильности image

Создание процесса ядерной пятерки является положительным шагом для режима нераспространения. Впервые в истории ДНЯО был сформирован постоянный диалоговый механизм официальных ядерных государств по вопросам нераспространения. Целью данной научной записки является анализ усилий ядерной пятерки в обесп...

Все Статьи
Кучинов Владимир Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва, Россия
Место работы : Член Центрального правления Ядерного общества России
Экспертизы :
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Атомная энергетика
Ядерная безопасность
Биография :

В 2008 – 2018 гг. советник генерального директора ГК «Росатом. В 1998 – 2002 гг. –  заместитель руководителя, а с 2002- руководитель департамента, Министерства по атомной энергии Российской Федерации по международному и внешнеэкономическому сотрудничеству, с 2004 по 2008 начальник управления международного сотрудничества Федерального агентства по атомной энергии Российской Федерации. В 1991-1994 гг. – советник Постоянного представительства Российской Федерации при международных организациях в Вене. Сотрудник МАГАТЭ в 1980-1985 и в 1994-1998 гг. В 1969 г. окончил Московский инженерно-физический институт по специальности инженер-физик

Берлс Роберт image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : Старший советник, Программа по безопасности ядерных материалов, Фонд NTI
Должность : Директор
Экспертизы :
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерный терроризм
Биография :

Служил 26 лет в ВВС США, полковник в отставке. В 1980-х годах работал атташе по вопросам авиации в посольстве США в Москве. При администрации Б.Клинтона служил помощником министра энергетики по программам в России и СНГ. До прихода в NTI был вице-президентом по вопросам развития бизнеса и отношений с правительством американской нефтяной компании. В NTI работал с момента создания организации, курировал проекты NTI в России, касающиеся предотвращения угроз распространения ядерного, биологического и химического оружия. Член Рабочей группы при ЭКС Пир-Центра по вопросам международного сотрудничества в области нераспространения ОМУ и физической ядерной безопасности с 2012 года.

Чебан Александр Яковлевич image
Местоположение : Одесса, Украина
Место работы : Одесский центр по вопросам нераспространения
Должность : Научный сотрудник
Биография :

Кандидат политических наук. Участник Летней школы-2011 Центра политических исследований России (ПИР-Центра). Автор публикаций по тематике ядерного распространения и разоружения. Победитель объявленного ПИР-Центром в 2011 г. конкурса рецензий на фильм “Nuclear Tipping Point”. Стажер ПИР-Центра в 2012 г. Сфера научных интересов охватывает проблематику ядерного распространения и разоружения, вопросов региональной безопасности на Ближнем Востоке. Член Рабочей группы при ЭКС Пир-Центра по вопросам международного сотрудничества в области нераспространения ОМУ и физической ядерной безопасности в 2012 году. 

Бужинский Евгений Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Председатель Совета ПИР-Центра
Экспертизы :
Военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Военное сотрудничество
Отношения Россия-НАТО
Договор СНВ
ПРО
Военное использование космоса
Европейская безопасность
Биография :

Генерал-лейтенант запаса, канд. воен. наук. Один из самых опытных военных дипломатов и экспертов России. В Вооруженных Силах с 1968 г. Окончил Военный институт иностранных языков, Военную академию имени М.В. Фрунзе. В 1976-1992 гг. проходил службу на различных должностях в Генеральном штабе СССР и РФ, в 1992-2009 гг. — старший офицер, заместитель начальника направления, начальник направления, заместитель начальника управления. начальник Международно-договорного управления Министерства обороны РФ. Звание генерал-майор присвоено в 2000 г., генерал-лейтенанта – в 2003 году. В 2002 назначен начальником Международно-договорного управления – заместителем начальника Главного управления Международного военного сотрудничества Министерства обороны РФ. Уволен с действительной военной службы в 2009 г.  В 2009–2015 гг. консультант, старший вице-президент ПИР-Центра. С апреля 2014 г. председатель Совета ПИР-Центра. С 2016 по н.в. – доцент Факультета мировой политики МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова, руководитель Центра прикладных политико-военных исследований. С 2009 г. по 2018 г. — заместитель генерального директора АО «Концерн радиостроения «ВЕГА». Вице-президент Российского совета по международным делам. Сфера профессиональных интересов: контроль над вооружениями, военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности, вопросы региональной и глобальной безопасности, нераспространение ОМУ, военное использование космоса, отношения Россия-НАТО, российско-американские, российско-китайские отношения. 10/20

Архив публикаций

Евгений Петрович Бужинский отметил 70-летний юбилей

loading