International Security Index iSi

PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

The Security Index Occasional Paper Series Publishes Policy Memo " If the New START Treaty Expires With No Extension:Scenarios For Russia" image
01.06.2020

The memo presents possible scenarios should the New START Treaty expire without extension. Special attention is being paid to confidence building measures to implement without a treaty-like legal basis. The memo also considers the build-up potential of strategic nuclear forces of Russia and the US.

 

29.05.2020

"As a follow-up to my Memos dated March 27, 2020, April 10, 2020, April 24, 2020 and May 12, 2020, I hereby declare the extension of the remote work mode until June 11, 2020 inclusive, due to the persistence of the complex epidemiological situation in Moscow", – Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, Director of PIR Center.

26.05.2020

«The circumstances in which the whole world has found itself today have changed, but the importance of nuclear nonproliferation issues and U.S.-Russia dialogue on the NPT review process continues to bring together both young and major experts. I am very glad that modern technologies help us in this. Could anyone predict a year ago, at the last meeting of the working group, that the Review Conference would be rescheduled? Hardly. But this gives us time, and by “us” I mean Russia, the USA and the whole nonproliferation community, time to think creatively about how we can better prepare for it. And our Track 2.5 meetings are devoted to exactly such ideas, fresh and bright, from the next generation of experts», – Director of PIR Center, Head of the Center for Global Trends and International Organizations at the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Federation, Professor at MGIMO University, Co-Chair of the working group Dr. Vladimir Orlov

50 years after ratification of the NPT by the Soviet Union and its entry into force: lessons learned and prospects for strengthening of the nuclear nonproliferation regime

20-04-06 Selezneva theses March 12 20-04-06 Selezneva theses March 12 20-04-06 Baklitsky theses March 12 20-04-06 Selezneva theses WORKSHOP MATERIALS, MARCH 12, 2020


SESSION 1. LESSONS LEARNT


Oleg Rozhkov, Deputy Director of the Department for Nonproliferation and Arms Control of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia. Member of the PIR Center Expert Council. Vice-chair of the Board of Governors of the IAEA. Graduated from MGIMO with a degree in "International Relations". 2005-2010 - Deputy Director of the Department for Security and Disarmament of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, member of the Russian delegation to the NPT Review Conference in 2005. Deputy Head of the delegation to the NPT Review Conference in 2010. 2010-2018 - Director of the On-Site Inspection Division of the Temporary Technical Secretariat of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization Preparatory Commission. Speech materials (in Russian)

 

 

 

 

 

Vladimir Artisyuk, Advisor to the Director General of Rosatom State Atomic Energy Corporation. Graduated from the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute with a degree in Nuclear Power Plants and Installations (1986), from the graduate school at the Obninsk Institute of Atomic Energy (Ph.D. 1990), as well as from Tokyo Institute of Technology with a doctoral degree (Doctor in Science, 1997). He was awarded the academic degree of Doctor of Engineering. He has over 200 publications in the field of transmutation of radioactive waste and fuel cycles with increased security against unauthorized distribution of nuclear materials. Since 2016, member of the international group of advisers to the IAEA Director General in the Field of Nuclear Energy (SAGNE). Since 2018, Vice Chairman of the International Framework for Nuclear Energy Cooperation (IFNEC). Speech materials (in Russian)

 

 

 

 

Darya Selezneva, Junior Researcher, IMEMO. She is a Consultant at the International Luxembourg Forum on Preventing Nuclear Catastrophe. From January to July 2018, Daria was an intern at the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs in the WMD Branch, in which capacity she acted as a member of the Secretariat of the Preparatory Committee for the 2020 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons and provided assistance at the first meeting of the 2018 Session of the UN Disarmament Commission. Daria holds dual Master’s degree in Non-Proliferation and Terrorism Studies from the Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO) and Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey (MIIS). Speech materials (in Russian).




SESSION 2.PROSPECTS FOR STRENGTHENING OF THE NUCLEAR NONPROLIFERATION REGIME

 

Andrey Baklitskiy, Consultant, PIR Center. Researcher at the Center for Global Issues and International Organizations of the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Member of the Commission on the Problems of the Deep Reduction of Nuclear Arms. Graduate of the Faculty of International Relations of the Ural Federal University. Participant of the sessions of the preparatory committee for the NPT Review Conference 2013-2014. and the 2015 NPT Review Conference. Participant in the 2020 Nuclear Five Conference. Editor of the PIR Center's White Paper “Ten Steps toward a Weapons of Mass Destruction-free Zone in Middle East”. Research interests: arms control, nuclear nonproliferation, international security. Speech materials (in Russian).

 

 

 

 

 Andrey Malov, Associate Professor, International and National Security Department, Diplomatic Academy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, member of the PIR Center Expert Council. PhD. of History. He graduated from the translation and interpretation department of the Maurice Thorez Moscow State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages. He worked in the Committee of Youth Organizations of the USSR. 1991-1994 - Research and teaching at the Institute of Economic Strategies of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow). 1992 - an invited professor at the Western International University of the United States (Phoenix, Arizona). Since 1994 – Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation employee. He worked in “hot spots” through the OSCE: in Nagorno-Karabakh (1994-1996), as well as in Bosnia and Herzegovina (1996-1998). Since 1998, he has been engaged in arms control, non-proliferation and disarmament at the Russian Foreign Ministry. Negotiator in the field of multilateral disarmament "Nuclear disarmament - will the NPT remain?" (in Russian)

 

 

 

 

Vladimir Orlov, Director, PIR Center. He is the Head of the Center for Global Trends and International Organizations at the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Foreign Ministry, professor at MGIMO University, an academic supervisor of the dual-degree MA Program in Nonproliferation Studies. His research areas include nuclear nonproliferation, Russian-US and Russian-European security relations, foreign and international security policies of the Russian Federation, threats and challenges to international security.  "WMD-free zone in the Middle East - Reflecting upon the outcome of the New York Conference on the WMDFZ held in November (2019)" (in Russian)



 



Adlan Margoev, "Yaderny Kontrol" (Nuclear Control) Bulletin Editor, PIR Center. Analyst at the Institute for International Studies, MGIMO, junior researcher at the Center for Middle East Studies, Institute for International Studies, MGIMO, graduate student of the Department of Applied Analysis of International Problems, MGIMO. Member of the Gorchakov Club. Specialist in Iran and international nonproliferation policy. Graduate of the dual degree master's program in the nonproliferation of weapons of mass destruction, founded by the PIR Center, MGIMO and the Middlebury Institute for International Studies in Monterey, USA. In 2017-2019, he led the PIR Center's Russia and Nuclear Non-Proliferation program. Research interests: Russian-Iranian relations, Iran’s nuclear program, NPT review process, Russian policy in the field of nuclear nonproliferation and arms control, Russian-American dialogue on nonproliferation and arms control. "Prospects for the alighning the text of the final document of the NPT Review Conference 2020. Scenario Overview" (in Russian)

loading

Хронометр

Конференция 2010 года участников ДНЯО по рассмотрению действия Договора завершается принятием итогового документа
28.05.2010
Обзорная конференция ДНЯО 2010 г. приняла итоговый документ
28.05.2010
подписание Договора между СССР и США о подземных ядерных взрывах в мирных целях
28.05.1976

Индекс международной безопасности iSi

PIR PRESS LOGO

ПИР-ПРЕСС сообщает

26.05.2020

«Обстоятельства, в которых сегодня оказался весь мир, изменились, но важность вопросов ядерного нераспространения и российско-американского диалога по обзорному процессу ДНЯО продолжает собирать вместе как молодых, так и опытных экспертов. Я очень рад, что современные технологии нам в этом помогают. Могли ли мы подумать год назад, на прошлой встрече рабочей группы, что Обзорная конференция может быть перенесена? Вряд ли. Но это дает нам – России, США и всему мировому сообществу нераспространенцев – время более творчески подумать о том, как лучше к ней подготовиться. Именно таким – свежим, оригинальным идеям молодого поколения специалистов и посвящены наши встречи в формате «дорожки 2.5», – директор ПИР-Центра, заведующий Центром глобальных проблем и международных организаций ИАМП Дипломатической академии МИД РФ, профессор МГИМО МИД РФ, сопредседатель рабочей группы Владимир Орлов

25.05.2020

"По натуре я – инноватор, мне нужно создавать что-то новое, что будет находить у людей эмоциональный и интеллектуальный отклик", – начальник Управления экспертно-аналитической работы, контроля реализации приоритетных решений и национальных проектов Общероссийского народного фронта Любовь Солдаткина.

22.05.2020

В докладе приведен взгляд российского МИД на роль Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия в существующем режиме нераспространения. Рассматривается значение зон, свободных от ядерного и других видов оружия массового уничтожения, в качестве инструментов укрепления региональной безопасности и стабильности. Отмечаются ключевые вызовы режиму нераспространения. Особое внимание автор уделяет выполнению российской стороной своих обязательств по международным соглашениям в сфере нераспространения и разоружения.

50 лет ратификации ДНЯО Советским Союзом и его вступления в силу: уроки прошлого, взгляд в будущее

 МАТЕРИАЛЫ ЭКСПЕРТНОГО СЕМИНАРА, 12 МАРТА 2020 


СЕССИЯ 1. УРОКИ ПРОШЛОГО

Олег Рожков, заместитель директора департамент по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями МИД России. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра. Заместитель управляющего Совета управляющих МАГАТЭ. Выпускник МГИМО МИД СССР по специальности «Международные отношения». 2005-2010 – Заместитель директора Департамента по вопросам безопасности и разоружения МИД РФ, член российской делегации на Конференции по рассмотрению действия ДНЯО в 2005 г. Заместитель главы делегации на Конференции по рассмотрению действия ДНЯО в 2010 г. 2010-2018 – Директор Отдела по инспекции на месте Временного технического секретариата Подготовительной комиссии Организации по Договору о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний. Материалы выступления

 

 

  

Владимир Артисюк, советник генерального директора ГК «Росатом». Закончил Московский инженерно-физический институт по специальности «Атомные электростанции и установки» (1986), аспирантуру Обнинского института атомной энергетики (кандидат технических наук 1990), докторантуру Токийского института технологии (Doctor in Science, 1997), высшая ученая степень – доктор технических наук. Имеет свыше 200 публикаций в области трансмутации радиоактивных отходов и топливных циклов с повышенной защищенностью против несанкционированного распространения ядерных материалов. C 2016 г. член международной группы советников про Генеральном директоре МАГАТЭ в области ядерной энергетики (SAGNE). С 2018 г. вице-председатель Международной структуры ядерно-энергетического сотрудничества (The International Framework for Nuclear Energy Cooperation – IFNEC). Материалы выступления

 

 

 

Дарья Селезнева, младший научный сотрудник ИМЭМО РАН. Является консультантом Международного Люксембургского форума по предотвращению ядерной катастрофы. С января по июль 2018 г. Дарья проходила стажировку в Управлении Организации Объединенных Наций по вопросам разоружения и выступала в качестве члена Секретариата в ходе второй сессии Подготовительного комитета Обзорной конференции 2020 года по рассмотрению действия Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия. Окончила магистерскую программу двойного диплома в области нераспространения, организованную МГИМО (У) МИД России, Миддлберийским институтом международных исследований в Монтерее (Калифорния, США) и ПИР-Центром.Материалы выступления.

  

 

 

СЕССИЯ 2. ВЗГЛЯД В БУДУЩЕЕ 


Андрей Баклицкий, консультант ПИР-Центра. Научный сотрудник Центра глобальных проблем и международных организаций Дипломатической академии МИД России. Член комиссии по проблемам на пути глубокого сокращения ядерных вооружений. Выпускник факультета международных отношений Уральского федерального университета. Участник сессий подготовительного комитета к Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 2013-2014 гг. и Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 2015 г. Участник конференции «Ядерной пятерки» 2020 г. Редактор Белой Книги ПИР-Центра «Десять шагов к зоне, свободной от оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке». Сфера научных интересов: контроль над вооружениями, ядерное нераспространение, международная безопасность. Материалы выступления.

  

 

  

 Андрей Малов, доцент кафедры международной и национальной безопасности Дипломатической академии МИД России, член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра. Кандидат исторических наук. Окончил переводческий факультет Московского государственного педагогического института иностранных языков им. М. Тореза. Работал в Комитете молодежных организаций СССР. 1991-1994 гг. – исследовательская и преподавательская деятельность в Институте экономических стратегий РАН (Москва). 1992 г. –приглашенный преподаватель в Западном Международном Университете США (Финикс, Аризона). С 1994 г. – сотрудник МИД РФ. Работал в «горячих точках» по линии ОБСЕ: в Нагорном Карабахе (1994-1996 гг.), а также в Боснии и Герцеговине (1996-1998 гг.). С 1998 г. занимается в МИД РФ вопросами контроля над вооружениями, нераспространения и разоружения. Участник переговоров в области многостороннего разоружения.  "Ядерное разоружение - сохранится ли ДНЯО?"

  

 

 

Владимир Орлов, основателm (1994) и директор ПИР-Центра. Он возглавляет Центр глобальных проблем и международных организаций Дипломатической Академии МИД РФ. Является профессором МГИМО и научным руководителем магистерской программы двойного диплома «Глобальная безопасность, ядерная политика и нераспространение оружия массового уничтожения». Сфера научных интересов: нераспространение ядерного оружия, российско-американские отношения в области безопасности, внешняя политика  и политика Российской Федерации в области международной безопасности, а также современные вызовы международной безопасности. онасвободная от ОМУ, на Ближнем Востоке  Осмысляя итоги ноябрьской (2019 г.) конференции по ЗСОМУ в Ньюорке"

 

 

 

 

Адлан Маргоев, редактор бюллетеня "Ядерный Контроль". Аналитик Института международных исследований МГИМО МИД России, младший научный сотрудник Центра ближневосточных исследований Института международных исследований МГИМО, аспирант кафедры прикладного анализа международных проблем МГИМО. Член Клуба Горчакова. Специалист по Ирану и международной политике в области ядерного нераспространения. Выпускник магистерской программы двойного диплома в области нераспространения ОМУ, основанной ПИР-Центром, МГИМО и Миддлберийским институтом международных исследований в Монтерее, США. В 2017-2019 годах руководил программой «Россия и ядерное нераспространение» ПИР-Центра. Сфера научных интересов: российско-иранские отношения, ядерная программа Ирана, обзорный процесс ДНЯО, политика России в сфере ядерного нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями, российско-американский диалог по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями. "Перспективы согласования текста итогового документа ОК ДНЯО 2020 года. Краткий обзор сценариев" 

loading