Chronology

The USSR commissions the first world commercial nuclear power plant (NPP) in the city of Obninsk (Kaluga Region).
27.06.1954
PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

23.06.2022

On June 25, at 20:00 in Zvenigorod (Moscow region), as part of the Maslin Fest, the PIR Community is holding the First Charity Auction in support of the PIR Center Education & Training Program. Among the lots on display: unique materials from the 1990s, bibliographic and research rarities from our storerooms, books and magazines with autographs of the authors. To participate in the auction, it is enough to register for the Maslin Fest.

23.06.2022

On June 22, 2022, the XXI International School on Global Security for young professionals from Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was visited by Sergei Ryabkov, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia. He noticed the fundamental theses of the Russian foreign policy doctrine and assessed the current situation of the Russian Federation on the world stage and prospects for the development of relations with partners.

21.06.2022

In an Vladimir Orlov's interview, director of PIR Center, with Jorge Ferrer, a journalist of the Spanish newspaper El Mundo, the issues of the risks of using nuclear weapons against the background of the Ukrainian conflict are touched upon. We also talked about how the Chekhov's gun differs from nuclear weapons, whether Russia will use tactical nuclear weapons in Ukraine, whether European children can sleep peacefully now, American or Russian nuclear weapons pose a great danger to global security, whether there is reason for optimism today and which race will replace the current unwise human race.

19.06.2022

On June 19, the official opening of the XXI International School on Global Security took place. The director of PIR Center Vladimir Orlov and the coordinator of Education & Training Program of the PIR Center Elena Karnaukhova addressed the students of the School with a welcoming speech. He stressed the importance of holding face-to-face scientific and educational events and suggested to forget about "zooms" for a while, and tune in to active, live communication. The participants of the School will have an exciting 9 days full of discussions on pressing issues of global security.

Nuclear Nonproliferation: History in Faces (Oral History)

Unfortunately, the tradition of writing political memoirs has not taken root in Russia. As a rule, diplomats and those working for other foreign policy agencies do not leave written memories of the events they witnessed after retirement. Much of what they could share is “not put on paper,” which means that sooner or later this information will be lost.

Memories of the older generation of disarmament specialists make a significant contribution to preserving the continuity of the traditions of Russian diplomacy and foreign policy. As Russia's leading think tank in the field of international security, PIR Center strives to make its best contribution not only to overcoming current security challenges for Russia and the world, but also to preserving historically reliable information about past successes and failures. In 2021, we launched our new project "Nuclear Nonproliferation: History in Faces."

The first event within the framework of the new project was the webinar “Putsch. Orlov. Eyewitness. 3 days and 2 nights at the White House. 30 years later” (in Russian), which took place on August 19, 2021. PIR Center’s Founder and Director Vladimir Orlov, who was in Russia’s White House from August 19 to 21, 1991, as a correspondent for Moskovskiye Novosti, shared his memories.

On December 23, 2021, an expert seminar "30 years of Russian nuclear succession" was held, timed to coincide with the anniversary of the events associated with the collapse of the Soviet Union. Prominent Russian and foreign diplomats, as well as leading researchers and analysts, took spoke at the event. The participants include:

Pavel Palazhchenko, Head of the International Department of the Gorbachev Foundation, chief English interpreter for Mikhail Gorbachev and Soviet foreign minister Eduard Shevardnadze in 1985-1991.

Yuri Nazarkin, Professor at the Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations, Head of the Russian delegation at the negotiations on the nuclear disarmament of Ukraine, Belarus, and Kazakhstan in 1992.

Vladimir Orlov, PIR Center’s Founder and Director.

Togzhan Kassenova, Senior Fellow with the Project on International Security, Commerce, and Economic Statecraft (PISCES) at the Center for Policy Research, SUNY-Albany, Non-Resident Fellow at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, author of the forthcoming book "Atomic Steppe: How Kazakhstan Gave Up the Bomb”.

Mariana Budjeryn, Research Associate at the Harvard Kennedy School’s Belfer Center, author of the forthcoming book "Inheriting the Bomb: Soviet Collapse and Nuclear Disarmament of Ukraine";

Polina Sinovets - Director of the Odessa Center for Non-Proliferation, editor of the book "Ukraine's Nuclear History."

Our distinguished included were Rose Gottemoeller, Steven C. Házy Lecturer at Stanford University’s Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, NSC’s director for Russia, Ukraine, and Eurasia Affairs in 1993-1994, and Alexey Obukhov, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the USSR/Russia in 1989-1992.

Currently, we are working on the new format of oral history, which will include a series of interviews with the older generation of Russian experts in arms control, disarmament and nuclear nonproliferation: veterans of the Russian Foreign Ministry, military diplomats, nuclear scientists. The interviews will be posted on nonproliferation.ru and will be available to everyone both in Russia and abroad.

 

For questions related to the project "Nuclear Nonproliferation: History in Faces", you can contact Artem Kvartalnov, Junior Research Fellow of the Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation Program at 7 (495) 987 1915 or by e-mail [email protected]

loading

Хронометр

подписание в Минске Арменией, Белоруссией, Казахстаном, Киргизией, Россией, Таджикистаном, Узбекистаном и Украиной Соглашения по экспортному контролю сырья, материалов, оборудования, технологий и услуг, которые могут быть использованы для создания ОМУ
26.06.1992
подписание в Минске Арменией, Белоруссией, Казахстаном, Киргизией, Россией, Таджикистаном, Узбекистаном и Украиной Соглашения об основных принципах сотрудничества в области мирного использования атомной энергии
26.06.1992
образование Министерства среднего машиностроения - руководящего органа по проведению работ в области атомной науки и техники
26.06.1953
PIR PRESS LOGO

ПИР-ПРЕСС сообщает

23.06.2022

25 июня в 20:00 в Звенигороде (Московская область) в рамках Маслин-феста Сообщество ПИР проводит I Благотворительный аукцион в поддержку Образовательной программы ПИР-Центра. Среди выставленных лотов: уникальные материалы 1990-х годов, библиографические и научные раритеты из наших запасников, книги и журналы с автографами авторов. Для участия в аукционе достаточно пройти регистрацию на Маслин-фест.

23.06.2022

22 июня 2022 г. XXI Международную школу ПИР-Центра по проблемам глобальной безопасности для молодых специалистов из стран Европы и СНГ посетил заместитель министра иностранных дел РФ Сергей Рябков. В своем выступлении заместитель министра иностранных дел оценил текущее положение РФ на мировой арене и перспективы развития отношений с партнерами, озвучив фундаментальные тезисы российской внешнеполитической доктрины.

22.06.2022

Заместитель министра иностранных дел России Сергей Рябков выступил перед участниками Школы ПИР-Центра 2022 г. с темой "Баланс ценностей и интересов: приоритеты России в области внешней политики на современном этапе". Публикуем текст его выступления.

21.06.2022

В интервью директора ПИР-Центра Владимира Орлова с журналистом испанской газеты El Mundo Хорхе Феррера затрагиваются вопросы рисков использования ядерного оружия на фоне украинского конфликта. Поговорили также о том, чем отличается чеховское ружьё от ядерного оружия, воспользуется ли Россия тактическим ядерным оружием на Украине, могут ли европейские дети нынче спать спокойно, американское или российское ядерное оружие представляет большую опасность глобальной безопасности, есть ли повод для оптимизма сегодня и какая раса придёт на смену нынешней немудрой человеческой расе.

Ядерное нераспространение: история в лицах

К сожалению, в России слабо приживается традиция написания политических мемуаров. Как правило, дипломаты и сотрудники иных внешнеполитических ведомств, уходя на пенсию, не оставляют письменных воспоминаний о тех событиях, свидетелями которых они были. Многое из того, чем они могли бы поделиться, «не положено на бумагу», а значит, рано или поздно будет утрачено.

Воспоминания старшего поколения специалистов-разоруженцев вносят весомый вклад в сохранение преемственности традиций российской дипломатии и внешней политики. Будучи ведущим российским аналитическим центром в области международной безопасности, ПИР-Центр стремится вносить посильный вклад не только в преодоление текущих вызовов безопасности России и мира, но и в сохранение исторически достоверной информации о прошлых успехах и провалах. В 2021 г. мы запустили проект «Ядерное нераспространение: история в лицах».

 

 
Е.П. Бужинский  Ю.К. Назаркин

 

Первым мероприятием в рамках нового проекта стал вебинар «Путч. Орлов. Очевидец. 3 дня и 2 ночи в Белом Доме. 30 лет спустя», состоявшийся 19 августа 2021 г. Своими воспоминаниями поделился основатель и директор ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов, который в период с 19 по 21 августа 1991 г. находился в Белом доме в качестве корреспондента газеты «Московские новости».

23 декабря 2021 г. состоялся экспертный семинар «30 лет российского ядерного правопреемства», приуроченный к очередной годовщине событий, связанных с распадом Советского Союза. В мероприятии в качестве спикеров приняли участие корифеи отечественной и зарубежной дипломатии, а также ведущие исследователи и аналитики. Среди них:

Павел Палажченко – руководитель отдела международных связей и контактов с прессой Горбачев-Фонда; в 1985–1991 гг. – переводчик М.С. Горбачёва и министра иностранных дел Э.А. Шеварднадзе;

Юрий Назаркин – профессор Женевской школы дипломатии и международных отношений; в 1992 г. – глава российской делегации на переговорах с Республикой Беларусь, Украиной и Казахстаном по вопросу их присоединения к Договору СНВ;

Владимир Орлов – основатель и директор ПИР-Центра;

Тогжан Касенова – старший научный сотрудник Проекта по международной безопасности, торговле и государственному управлению в сфере экономики Университета штата Нью-Йорк в Олбани, научный сотрудник в статусе нерезидента Фонда Карнеги за международный мир, автор книги «Atomic Steppe: How Kazakhstan Gave Up the Bomb»;

Марьяна Буджерин – научный сотрудник Белферовского центра науки и международных отношений Гарвардского университета, автор книги «Inheriting the Bomb: Soviet Collapse and Nuclear Disarmament of Ukraine»;

Полина Синовец – директор Одесского центра по вопросам нераспространения ядерного оружия, редактор книги «Ukraine’s Nuclear History»;

С комментариями выступили: Роуз Гёттемюллер, лектор Стэнфордского университета, в 1993–1994 гг. – директор по России, Украине и Евразии в Совете национальной безопасности США; Алексей Обухов, в 1989-1992 гг. заместитель министра иностранных дел СССР/России.

Сейчас в рамках проекта ведётся работа над новым для ПИР-Центра форматом устной истории – серии интервью-воспоминаний со старшим поколением российских специалистов в вопросах контроля над вооружениями, разоружения и ядерного нераспространения: ветеранами МИД России, военными дипломатами, атомщиками. Материалы интервью будут размещены на платформе nonproliferation.ru и будут доступны для всех желающих как в России, так и за рубежом.

 

По вопросам, связанным с проектом «Ядерное нераспространение: история в лицах», Вы можете обращаться к младшему научному сотруднику программы «Россия и ядерное нераспространение» Артему Квартальнову по телефону 7 (495) 987 1915 или по электронной почте kvartalnov@pircenter.org.

loading