Chronology

Russia President Vladimir Putin and U.S. president George W. Bush sign in Moscow the treaty between the Russian Federation and the United States of America on "Reduction of Strategic Offensive Potentials" (SOP Treaty).
24.05.2002
All nuclear weapons are withdrawn from Kazakhstan to Russia.
24.05.1995
The Protocol to the ABM Treaty permitting each side to have only one ABM deployment area comes into force.
24.05.1976
The Presidium of the CC CPSU decides to deploy medium-range missiles on Cuba (to protect Cuba from the U.S. invasion and to balance with the American Tor and Jupiter missiles deployed in the UK, Italy and Turkey).
24.05.1962
PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

21.05.2022

"The main thing, of course, is constant work, and in two directions. On the one hand, you need to constantly hone the skills that you have, especially in our specialty. You should never forget that if you know a language, it will always be at a high level. It needs to be constantly refreshed. This is on the one hand. On the other hand, you need to learn something new all the time. I'm used to the fact that you need to continuously immerse yourself in new things, new topics, new activities. This applies to both research and practical work. The Arab East and the Middle East provide a very wide field of action for self-realization, there is always an opportunity to learn something new, so human life is not enough for this. You need to leave a memory of yourself in the profession. Getting new knowledge, mastering something is very interesting and gives an incentive to life, without which it becomes boring," - Vitaliy Naumkin, director of the Institute of Oriental Studies at the Russian Academy of Sciences.

17.05.2022

While most of the countries remain concentrated on the Ukrainian crisis, there is a possibility of another crisis at the different edge of Eurasia. The potential troublemaker is the Democratic People's Republic of Korea and its nuclear missile program, which has somewhat revived in recent times.

13.05.2022

Negotiations to return to Iranian nuclear deal in recent weeks have noticeably stalled. The main reason for this is the discrepancy between the positions of Tehran and Washington on the status of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, which is extremely important for Iran both from a military and economic point of view. On this background, external players interested in the restoration of the deal became more active. First of all, this concerns the monarchies of the Persian Gulf.

11.05.2022

The military situation in Europe against the backdrop of the ongoing Russian special operation in Ukraine remains tense. On May 1, joint exercises Defender Europe and Swift Response began in Poland and eight other NATO countries. These exercises said to be last until May 26. Up to 18 thousand servicemen from the USA, Great Britain, France, Germany, Sweden and other countries will take part in them.

Experts

How many people work in the PIR Center? It is not so easy to answer this question at once, for the counts may differ. According to the staff list, it comes out around twenty employees. But what if you consider PIR Center Advisory Board members, as well as those who write for the PIR Center's periodicals, provide consulting services for its projects, and those that participate in lecture courses? Then the number will be over a hundred.

The PIR Center's highest authority is its Executive Board, uniting prominent Russian political scientists, experts in international affairs, economists, and public figures. The recommendations of members of the Executive Board, their experience and expertise in the problems concerning nongovernmental sector development trends in Russia and the world provide invaluable assistance in the strategic development of the Center and make a major contribution to the identification of areas for its long-term research activities.

In its research studies, the Center receives great support from the Advisory Board. Today, Advisory Board of the PIR Center brings together 74 individual and 10 corporate members - the leading Russian and international experts, governmental officials and business organizations, spokesmen for the interests of different countries, regions, continents, united by common idea - to promote a more stable, safer world. Advisory Board consists representatives of Russia, Kazakhstan, Great Britain, Germany, the United States, Norway, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Ireland, China, etc.

The PIR Center team combines knowledge, experience and youth to ensure the accomplishment of the Center's research, educational and publishing tasks. The Center's staff members include distinguished military experts – E. Maslin, E. Buzhinsky, V. Trubnikov - who for a long time have worked in Russian ministries and departments. The Center engages in its work young gifted people - students, graduates and promising scholars from various Russian regions and higher education institutions.

All this ensures high-level training and research activities carried out by the Center. The PIR Center has become a school that trains competent specialists not only for itself, but also for the leading Russian and foreign research organizations working in the area of international security, nonproliferation of WMD and arms control.

Experts trained by the PIR Center have worked at different times in the past and continue to do so at institutions such as Harvard University (USA), Geneva Center for Security Policy (Switzerland), Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO, Russia), Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI, Sweden), Center for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies (Russia), Center for Nonproliferation Studies of the Monterey Institute of International Studies (USA), Center for International Trade and Security at the University of Georgia (USA), and the Center for Defense Information (USA).

loading

Хронометр

подписание Советским Союзом Дополнительного протокола II к Договору о запрещении ядерного оружия в Латинской Америке (Договор Тлателолко).
18.05.1978
испытание индийского ядерного взрывного устройства, энерговыделение - от 10 до 20 килотонн.
18.05.1974
вступление в силу Договора о запрещении размещения на дне морей и океанов и в его недрах ядерного оружия и других видов оружия массового уничтожения
18.05.1972
PIR PRESS LOGO

ПИР-ПРЕСС сообщает

17.05.2022

В то время, как внимание большинства стран мира остаётся прикованным к украинскому кризису, потенциальный очаг напряжённости не затухает на противоположной оконечности Евразии. Речь идёт о Северной Корее и её ракетно-ядерной программе, несколько оживившейся в последнее время.

13.05.2022

Переговоры по возвращению к соблюдению условий иранской ядерной сделки в последние недели заметно пробуксовывают. Главной причиной этого является несовпадение позиций Тегерана и Вашингтона по статусу Корпуса стражей исламской революции, чрезвычайно важного для Ирана как с военной, так и с экономической точки зрения. Ввиду этого активизировались внешние игроки, заинтересованные в скорейшем восстановлении сделки. В первую очередь, это касается монархий Персидского залива.

13.05.2022

Коллектив ПИР-Центра завершил подведение итогов конкурсного отбора заявок на участие в XXI Международной школе ПИР-Центра по проблемам глобальной безопасности. Мероприятие состоится 18-26 июня 2022 г. в городе Звенигороде (Московская область). На Школу приглашены молодые специалисты из Азербайджана, Беларуси, ДНР, Казахстана, Кыргызстана, России, Северной Македонии, США, Таджикистана, Туркменистана, Узбекистана, Финляндии, Японии.

13.05.2022

Уже на протяжении 30-ти лет команда СВОП, состоящая из талантливых экспертов, государственных, политических и общественных деятелей, сотрудников СМИ и журналистов, представителей деловых кругов и предпринимателей, деятелей науки, успешно реализует проекты, направленные на улучшение внешнеполитического и оборонного потенциала РФ и укрепление её стратегических позиций на мировой арене.

Состав

Сколько человек работает в ПИР-Центре? На этот вопрос не просто ответить с ходу. Ведь как посчитать. Можно сказать по «штатному расписанию». Тогда получится, что около двадцати. А если учесть членов Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра, всех, кто пишут для периодических изданий ПИР-Центра, сотрудничают в качестве консультантов по проектам, участвуют в лекционных курсах Центра? Тогда число перевалит за сто.

Высший орган управления ПИР-Центра - его Совет, объединяющий известных российских политологов, ученых, экспертов-международников, экономистов, общественных деятелей. Рекомендации членов Совета, их опыт и экспертные знания проблем, касающихся мировых тенденций развития неправительственного сектора в России и мире, оказывают неоценимую помощь в вопросах стратегического развития организации, а также вносит основной вклад в определение перспективных направлений научно-исследовательской деятельности Центра.

Огромную помощь в научных исследованиях оказывает Экспертный совет. Экспертный совет ПИР-Центра объединяет 74 индивидуальных и 10 корпоративных членов – ведущих российских и международных экспертов, представителей государственной власти и бизнес-структур, выразителей интересов различных стран, регионов, континентов, объединенных общей идеей – способствовать установлению более стабильного, безопасного мира.  В состав совета входят представители России, Казахстана, Великобритании, Германии, Соединенных Штатов Америки, Норвегии, Шри-Ланки, Швейцарии, Ирландии, КНР и др.

Коллектив ПИР-Центра – это сплав знаний, опыта и молодости, позволяющий эффективно решать стоящие перед Центром научно-исследовательские, образовательные и издательские задачи. В Центре работают заслуженные эксперты в военной области –  генералы Е.П. Маслин, Е.П. Бужинский, В.И. Трубников с большим опытом работы в российских министерствах и ведомствах. К работе Центра активно привлекаются молодые и способные люди, главным образом, студенты и выпускники, перспективные ученые из различных регионов и ВУЗов России.

Все это обуславливает высокий уровень как подготовки Центром молодых специалистов, так и проводимых научно-исследовательских работ. ПИР-Центр по праву стал кузницей кадров не только для себя, но и для ведущих российских и зарубежный исследовательских организаций в области международной безопасности, нераспространения ОМУ и контроля над вооружениями.

Эксперты, подготовленные ПИР-Центром, в разное время работали или продолжают работать в Гарвардском университете (США), Женевском центре политики в области безопасности (Швейцария), Институте мировой экономики и международных отношений (ИМЭМО, Россия), Стокгольмском международном институте исследований проблем мира (СИПРИ, Швеция), Центр анализа стратегий и технологий (Россия), Центре исследований проблем нераспространения Монтерейского института международных исследований (США), Центре международной торговли и безопасности Университета штата Джорджия (США), Центре оборонной информации (США).

loading