Experts

  • Position : Project Director, Project on Asian Security; Project Director, Emerging Technologies and Global Security Project
  • Affiliation : PIR Center
complete list

News

18.05.2017

“The structured dialogue on current and future challenges and risks to security launched within the OSCE is not yet a negotiation on a regime of conventional arms control in Europe, but an attempt to develop a shared understanding of what could be its foundation in the current conditions. Russia has supported this process, yet it specified that unless NATO drops its deterrence policy there could hardly be any progress,” —  Oleg Shakirov, PIR Center consultant.

31.08.2016

“The entire European security system, including its military dimension, should be modernized. Here it may be reasonable to come back to Russia’s proposal to draft a comprehensive European Security Treaty, once put forward by the Russian President Dmitry Medvedev. This document could embrace all security dimensions, including the military one, restore the  system  of  control, which  is in  fact lost  now,  over conventional  armed  forces, and  dramatically  improve  the  system  of  confidence- and security-building measures”, – Evgeny Buzhinskiy, Chairman of the PIR Center’s Executive Board.

15.07.2016

In the new issue of the Security Index: Lassina Zerbo, the Executive Secretary of the CTBTO on DPRK nuclear testing and the future of the CTBTO, PIR Center’s recommendations for strengthening the international nuclear non-proliferation regime with comments by Sergio Duarte, High Representative of the UN Secretary General for Disarmament Affairs (2007-2012), Vadim Kozyulin on autonomous combat systems, Andrey Shkarbanov and Konstantin Stalmakhov on civil liability for nuclear damage, Kamal Gasimov on conflicts and squabbles within Syrian opposition, round table discussion on high-tech crime co-sponsored by CCI and PIR Center, Olga Mikhailova on cyber security of NPPs and critical infrastructure, Alyona Makhukova on Humanitarian initiative and the NPT review process.

All News

Conventional Arms and Prospects of Arms Trade Treaty

This project is completed. Information is not being updated

"The International Arms Trade Treaty is a bold initiative, which is ahead of its time. Today a lot of complicated issues are to be agreed on. It is noteworthy that the Russian position is undergoing a notable evolution. Russian experts have the opportunity to make a significant contribution to the project agreement. "

Director of the PIR Center Project "Prospects for the Arms Trade Treaty"  Vadim Kozyulin

Documents

Library

Useful links

Arms transfers are a tool of big politics. This is an area of domestic policy, where the ratio between defense exports and domestic consumption of arms reflects the attitude of the country’s leadership towards armed forces. This is an area of foreign policy, through which current and future alliances can be traced, changes in the balance of power become visible, challenges and threats are exposed.

In the modern world, effective management of weapons transfers becomes particularly important. One of the possible regulation mechanisms is the International Arms Trade Treaty (IATT). Today the UN is preparing an international conference on IATT in 2013. The PIR Center experts actively participate in the development of recommendations on such IATT aspects as the scope of regulation of the Treaty (controlling legal trade or preventing illegal trade), the issue of the Register, the need to incorporate the human rights issue in the Treaty.

According to the data available to the PIR Center experts, today the Russian exporters are losing some of the traditional regional markets due to the emergence of new arms producers. There is a significant price increase in the Russian defense production, which creates problems both for the Russian Armed Forces, and for Russian arms exports.

 

The PIR Center’s Project

The Aim of the Project on Conventional Arms and the prospects for the ATT is the study of defense production in the Russian Federation and arms exports from Russia; the development of international law on conventional arms control, with an emphasis on processes related to the discussion and adoption of the international Arms Trade Treaty.

For all questions on the Project please contact Director of the Project Vadim Kozyulin,  tel:   +7 (495) 987-1915, fax: +7 (495) 987-1914, or via e-mail: kozyulin at pircenter.org

PIR Center Analysis

According to scientists’ forecasts, technologies accumulated by the human race can radically transform warfare already during the next decade. Military robotics is gaining a critical mass to make a huge qualitative leap.

Vadim Kozyulin, Senior Researcher at the PIR Center, believes that nowadays the...

Evgeny Buzhinskiy, Chairman of the PIR Center’s Executive Board and former head of the International Treaty Directorate at the Russian Ministry of Defense, believes that the Warsaw NATO Summit has become an important landmark capturing a new military and political reality: Russia has become the main...

The implementation of the State Armament Program to 2020 in Russia results in a massive renovation of weapons and military equipment in a scale, which is unmatched in the modern Russian history. The ambitious program reflects the undisputable priority of technologically upgraded and strengthened Arm...

All articles
loading

Эксперты

  • Должность : Директор проекта по азиатской безопасности; Директор проекта по новым технологиям и международной безопасности
  • Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Все эксперты

Новости

05.05.2017

“Начатый в рамках ОБСЕ структурированный диалог о нынешних и будущих вызовах и угрозах безопасности — пока не переговоры о режиме контроля над обычными вооружениями в Европе, но попытка прийти к общему пониманию, на каком основании он мог бы строиться в современных условиях. Россия поддержала этот процесс, однако уточнила, что прогресса вряд ли удастся достичь при продолжении политики сдерживания со стороны НАТО”, — консультант ПИР-Центра Олег Шакиров.

31.08.2016

«Совершенствованию подлежит вся система обеспечения европейской безопасности, в том числе ее военного аспекта. И здесь, наверное, целесообразно вернуться к российскому предложению о разработке всеобъемлющего Договора о европейской безопасности, с которым в свое время выступил Президент РФ Дмитрий Медведев. Данный документ мог бы охватить все аспекты безопасности, включая военный, восстановить фактически утраченную ныне систему контроля над обычными вооруженными силами и кардинально усовершенствовать систему мер укрепления доверия и безопасности», – председатель Совета ПИР-Центра Евгений Бужинский.


15.07.2016

В новом номере Индекса Безопасности — интервью исполнительного секретаря ОДВЗЯИ Лассина Зербо, рекомендации ПИР-Центра по укреплению международного режима ядерного нераспространения с комментариями Высокого представителя Генерального секретаря ООН по вопросам разоружения (2007–2012) Сержио Дуарте, статья о боевых автономных системах, анализ подходов к гражданскому регулированию ответственности за ядерный ущерб, ликбез о конфликтах в рядах сирийской оппозиции, материалы круглого стола о проблеме высокотехнологичной преступности, работы, посвященные кибербезопасности АЭС и других объектов критической инфраструктуры, исследование роли Гуманитарной инициативы в обзорном процессе ДНЯО.

 

Все Новости

Обычные вооружения и перспективы МДТО

Данный проект завершен. Данные не обновляются

«Международный договор о торговле оружием – это смелая инициатива, которая опередила свое время. Сегодня предстоит согласовать много сложных вопросов. Примечательно, что российская позиция претерпевает заметную эволюцию. Российские эксперты имеют возможность внести значительный вклад в развитие проекта договора».

Директор проекта по обычным вооружениям и перспективам МДТО Вадим Козюлин

Документы проекта

Библиотека проекта

Полезные ссылки

Трансферты вооружений являются инструментом большой политики. Это область внутренней политики, где пропорции между оборонным экспортом и внутренним потреблением вооружений отражают отношение руководства страны к вооруженным силам. Это область внешней политики, сквозь которую прослеживаются действующие и будущие альянсы, становятся видимыми изменения в балансе сил, обнажаются вызовы и угрозы.

В современном мире становится особенно важным эффективное регулирование трансфертов вооружений. Один из возможных механизмов регулирования - Международный договор о торговле оружием (МДТО). Сегодня в ООН ведется подготовка к проведению международной конференции по МДТО в 2013 г. Активное участие в разработке рекомендаций по таким аспектам МДТО как сфера регулирования договора (контроль легальной или предотвращение нелегальной торговли), вопрос о регистре, необходимость включения вопроса о правах человека в договор, принимают эксперты ПИР-Центра.

По данным экспертов ПИР-Центра, сегодня российские экспортеры теряют некоторые традиционные региональные рынки, что связано с появлением новых производителей вооружений.  Происходит значительное удорожание российской оборонной продукции, создающее проблемы, как для российских Вооруженных сил, так и для российского экспорта вооружений.

Проект ПИР-Центра

Целью Проекта по обычным вооружениям и перспективам МДТО является изучение оборонного производства в РФ и экспорта вооружений из России; развития международного законодательства по контролю над обычными вооружениями с акцентом на процессы, связанные с обсуждением и принятием Международного договора о торговле оружием.

Ключевые темы исследований:

  • ВТС России и ее ключевых партнеров
  • Перспективы принятия Международного договора о торговле оружием
  • Анализ места и роли России в мировой торговле оружием.

Анализ ПИР-Центра

Ученые прогнозируют: уже в предстоящее десятилетие накопленные человечеством технологии способны радикально изменить способы ведения войны. Боевая робототехника набирает критическую массу для большого качественного скачка.

По мнению старшего научного сотрудника ПИР-Центра Вадима Козюлина, США, Китай...

По мнению Председателя Совета ПИР-Центра Евгения Бужинского, в прошлом начальника Международно-договорного управления Министерства обороны РФ, состоявшийся в начале июля в Варшаве саммит НАТО стал важным рубежом, зафиксировавшим новую военно-политическую реальность: Россия превратилась в основного в...

Вадим Козюлин, Альберт Ефимов

Кто из киноманов не мечтал познакомиться с Джеймсом Бондом, агентом 007? Сегодня эксперты начинают верить, что в недалеком будущем это станет возможным. Только, вероятно, Джеймс Бонд будет железным, и его будут звать не агент, а модель 007. Но два ноля, как и в номере Бонда, будут означать лицензию ...

Все Статьи

Материалы

В мире зарождается новый технологический уклад, базирующийся на передовых открытиях в области биотехнологий, нанотехнологий, информационных систем. Для того чтобы Россия не оставалась в стороне от этих процессов, в 2012 г. был создан Фонд перспективных исследований (ФПИ). О перспективах развития рос...

Все Статьи
loading