Articles

Heather A. Conley, Vladimir Orlov, Gen. Evgeny Buzhinsky, Cyrus Newlin, Sergey Semenov and Roksana Gabidullina
The Future of U.S.-Russian Arms Control: Principles of Engagement and New Approaches image

As one of its first security policy decisions, the Biden administration agreed to extend the New START Treaty for five years with no conditions.  The New START Treaty represents one of the last remaining vestiges of international arms control architecture and one of the few areas of potentially prod...

Natalia Romashkina, Dmitry Stefanovich, Alexey Markov

The monograph is devoted to topical issues of international security and strategic stability in the context of accelerated development of information and communication technologies. It justifies the importance of ensuring international information security. The monograph examines the possibility of ...

The Valdai Discussion Club

February 9, 2021.

 

Autonomous weapons are moving from engineering concept to army arsenals all around the world, and reports on their combat use are becoming more frequent. The first surprise about drones is that non-government military groups were the first to use them i...

Surviving in a Deregulated Strategic World image

Russian-American strategic relations are entering uncharted waters with the demise of the arms control regime; rapid technological revolution; the rise of nuclear multipolarity; the asymmetry of the two countries’ positions amid their growing confrontation and an increasing likelihood of military con...

Now when the U.S. presidential elections are over the fate of the START Treaty and nuclear arms control, in general, has become clearer.

The New START treaty is set to expire on February 5, 2021, and only a few months ago there was little doubt that it would be the end of it. The Trump administratio...

All articles

Experts

Antonov, Anatoly I. image
Affiliation : The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
Position : Deputy Minister
Biography :

PhD in Economics, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary. In 1978 he graduated from the Moscow State Institute of International Relations. He served for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) of the USSR and Russia in various positions at central office and abroad over 30 years. Since 2004 - Director of the Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He has broad experience in negotiation processes. He was a head of Russian government delegations at negotiations on the Treaty on Non-proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, Review of Inhumane Weapons Convention, Elimination of Chemical Weapons Convention, Elimination of Biological Weapons Convention, Treaty on Strategic Offensive Arms. He was the head of Russian delegation at the talks with the U.S. on new START treaty. From February 2, 2011 to December 28, 2016 he held the position of a Deputy Minister of Defence of the Russian Federation. In this post he oversaw the issues of international military cooperation and organization of contacts between the Ministry of Defence and military agencies of other states. On December 28, 2016 President Vladimir Putin appointed him as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. He is currently responsible for the military and political issues. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2000. Member of the SuPR (Sustainable Partnership with Russia) Group since 2009. Member of the PIR Center EKS Working Group on International Cooperation in Mass Destruction Weapon Nonproliferation and Physical Nuclear Safety since 2012.

Buzhinskiy, Evgeny P. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : PIR Center
Position : Chairman of the Executive Board
Expertise :
Political and military aspects of international security
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Military cooperation
Russia-NATO relations
START Treaty
Missile Defense
Military Use of the Outer Space
European security
Biography :

Lieutenant-General (Retired), Ph.D. Military Sciences. In the Armed Services since 1968. Graduated from the Military Institute of Foreign Languages, M.V. Frunze Military academy. 1976-1992 – served in different positions in the General Staff of the USSR and Russian Federation. From 1992 to 2002 – served in positions of: Senior Officer, Deputy Head of Direction, Head of Direction, Deputy Head of Department, Head of the International Treaties Department of  the Russian Ministry of Defense. Promoted to the rank of Major-General in 2000, to the rank of Lt.-General – in 2003. In 2002 he was appointed on the position of Head of the International Treaties Department – Deputy Head of the Main Directorate of International Military Cooperation of the Russian Federation Ministry of Defense. Retired from active duty in 2009. In 2009-2017 - PIR Center Consultant, then Senior vice-president. PIR Center's Chairman of the Executive Board since 2014. From 2016 – Associate professor and Head of Center for Applied Political-Military Research of School of World Politics, M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University.  Deputy CEO of "Vega Radio Engineering Corporation" from  2009 to 2018. Vice-President of Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC).  Expertise: arms control, political and military aspects of international security, non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, military use of the outer space, Russia-NATO, Russia-U.S., Russia-China relations. 10/20

Bibliography

Evgeny P. Buzhinsky celebrates his 70th birthday

 

Gottemoeller, Rose image
City : США
Affiliation : Distinguished Visiting Scholar at the CNS; Payne Distinguished Lecturer at the CISAC; Research Fellow at the Hoover Institution
Biography :

Rose Gottemoeller was sworn in as the Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance, on April 6, 2009. She was the chief negotiator of the New Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty (New START) with the Russian Federation. Since 2000, she had been with the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. She most recently was a senior associate in the Carnegie Russia & Eurasia Program in Washington, D.C., where she worked on U.S.–Russian relations and nuclear security and stability. She also served as the director of the Carnegie Moscow Center from January 2006 – December 2008. Before joining the Endowment in October 2000, Ms. Gottemoeller was deputy undersecretary for defense nuclear nonproliferation in the U.S. Department of Energy. Previously, she served as the department's assistant secretary for nonproliferation and national security, with responsibility for all nonproliferation cooperation with Russia and the Newly Independent States. In 1994-1997, deputy director of the International Institute for Strategic Studies (London, United Kingdom). In 1993-1994, director for Russia, Ukraine, and Eurasia Affairs of the U.S. National Security Council. Research interests: nuclear nonproliferation and strategic security. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 1994.

Miasnikov, Evgeny V. image
City : Moscow, Russia
Affiliation : Lecturer, General Physics Department, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology
Biography :

Candidate of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. Eugene Miasnikov was graduated from the Department of Aerophysics and Space Research of Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT) in 1985. In 1989 he got his Ph. Degree in Physics from MIPT. His dissertation was devoted to the problem of polarized laser light propagation in ocean water. Subsequently, until the end of 1991, he worked in the Scientific Production Association "ELAS" (Zelenograd) as an expert in remote sensing of the ocean from airborne and space platforms. In 1992, Eugene was a visiting fellow at the Defense and Arms Control Studies Program (currently, Security Studies Program) of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he studied current state-of-the-art of submarine detection and its impact on strategic stability in the world. Since 1992 Evgene Miasnikov has been working in the Center for Arms Control, Energy and Environmental Studies, and an active participant of the Center's research projects. In 2011 Eugene was elected the Director of the Center. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2011. Member of the Sustainable Partnership with Russia (SuPR) Group since 2013.

Potter, William image
City : Monterey, US
Affiliation : Director, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies, Middlebury Institute of International Studies
Biography :

Doctor, Professor. Member of the international relations division of the Pacific Council on International Policy, and the International Institute for Strategic Studies. Adviser on nonproliferation to the UN Secretary General. Research interests: nonproliferation in the former Soviet Union.

Reshetnikov, Leonid P. image
Affiliation : Director, Russian Institute for Strategic Studies
Biography :

Lieutenant-General (ret.), PhD in History. Since 2009 he retired from the military service after reaching the maximum age limit. From April 1976 to April 2009 he worked in the Russian foreign intelligence service (SVR). In his latest position he was the Head of Information and Analysis Office of SVR. He is a member of the board of the SVR. In 1970 he graduated from the department of history of the Kharkov State University. From 1971 to 1974 he was a postgraduate student at Sofia University (Bulgaria) where he defended his PhD thesis. He speaks Serbian, Bulgarian and Greek. He has state awards and awards of the Russian Orthodox Church.

Sokov, Nikolai N. image
Affiliation : Senior Fellow at the Vienna Center for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation.
Biography :

Ph.D., Doctor of Political Sciences, Doctor of History, Advisory Board member. Until 2011 he was Senior Research Associate at the Center for Nonproliferation Studies, Monterey Institute of International Studies (CA, United States). Nikolai Sokov has a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan (1996) and (the Soviet equivalent of a Ph.D.) Candidate of Historical Sciences degree from the Institute of World Economy and International Relations (1986). He graduated from Moscow State University in 1981. Beginning in 1981, Nikolai Sokov worked at the Institute of US and Canadian Studies and the Institute of World Economy and International Relations in Moscow. From 1987-92 he worked at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the Soviet Union and later Russia, and participated in START I and START II negotiations as well as in a number of summit and ministerial meetings. He has been invited to speak at numerous conferences and provide briefings to many organizations and governmental agencies.

Trubnikov, Vyacheslav I. image
Affiliation : Institute of World Economy and International Relations, Russian Academy of Sciences
Position : Executive Board member, Honorary Member of the Trialogue Club International
Biography :

General of the Army, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Hero of the Russian Federation. In 1967 graduated from the Moscow State Institute of International Relations with the Diploma of referent for Eastern countries. Since 1973 Member of the Russian Union of Journalists. Director of the Russian Foreign Intelligence Service in 1996-2000. First Deputy of the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Special Representative of the President of the Russian Federation in CIS countries in 2000-2004. Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Russian Federation to India in 2004-2009. PIR Center Executive Board member since 2014 and Member of the Trialogue Club International since 2012.

Voronkov, Vladimir I. image
City : New York, USA
Affiliation : Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nation, Head of the new United Nations Counter-Terrorism Office
Biography :

Before 2011 - Director of Department of European Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation. In 1975 he graduated from Moscow State University. Since 1989 he works in the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, occupying different diplomatic posts in Russia and abroad. In 2000-2002 he was the Minister Counsellor in the Russian Embassy in Poland. In 2002-2005 Vladimir I. Voronkov worked as Deputy Director of Personnel Department (MFA, Russia). In 2005-2008 he performed duties of Deputy Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation in OSCE. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2009.

loading

Статьи

Перспективы создания зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия, в Центральной и Восточной Европе image

История идеи создания в Центральной и Восточной Европе зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия (ЗСЯО в ЦВЕ), тянется ещё с начала холодной войны. Тем не менее, за все эти годы проект формальной денуклеаризации региона так и не был реализован в силу неблагоприятных внешних обстоятельств. Цель данной научн...

Консультант ПИР-Центра, доцент Ноттингемского университета в Малайзии, кандидат исторических наук Юлия Свешникова прокомментировала для ПИР-Центра прошедшие трехсторонние переговоры президентов России, Турции и Ирана в Тегеране. Мы с ней обсудили результаты данной встречи, с какими проблемами и выз...

Владимир Орлов, Сергей Семенов
Обзорная конференция ДНЯО: пределы возможного image

Обзорная конференция Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия 2022 г., унаследованная от ковидного 2020 года и неоднократно откладывавшаяся по причине бушевавшей пандемии, открывается в Нью-Йорке 1 августа. Четыре недели работы делегаций государств – членов ДНЯО, - что это будет: прорыв к более ...

ПИР-Центр провел интервью с Даяном Джаятиллекой, доктором наук, обозревателем деловой газеты «Daily FT» (Коломбо, Шри-Ланка), бывшим Чрезвычайным и Полномочным послом Шри-Ланки в Российской Федерации (2018–2020). С марта 2022 года Даян Джаятиллека является членом Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра.

В ин...

Усилия ядерной пятерки по обеспечению стратегической стабильности image

Создание процесса ядерной пятерки является положительным шагом для режима нераспространения. Впервые в истории ДНЯО был сформирован постоянный диалоговый механизм официальных ядерных государств по вопросам нераспространения. Целью данной научной записки является анализ усилий ядерной пятерки в обесп...

Все Статьи
Антонов Анатолий Иванович image
Место работы : Министерство иностранных дел Российской Федерации
Должность : Заместитель министра
Биография :

Канд. эконом. наук, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол. В 1978 году окончил Московский государственный институт международных отношений Министерства иностранных дел СССР, а в 1983-м — очную аспирантуру этого высшего учебного заведения. Более 30 лет работал в системе Министерства иностранных дел Советского Союза и Российской Федерации на различных должностях в центральном аппарате и за рубежом. С 2004 года - Директор Департамента по вопросам безопасности и разоружения Министерства иностранных дел РФ. Имеет большой опыт участия в переговорных процессах. Был руководителем ряда российских правительственных делегаций, в том числе на переговорах со странами «Группы восьми»; по Договору о нераспространении ядерного оружия; по обзору действия конвенций о «негуманном» оружии; о запрещении химического оружия, о запрещении биологического оружия на переговорах по многосторонним механизмам экспортного контроля. Являлся руководителем российской делегации на переговорах с США по новому Договору о стратегических наступательных вооружениях. Со 2 февраля 2011 г. по 28 декабря 2016 г. занимал пост заместителя Министра обороны Российской Федерации. В круг его обязанностей был включен блок вопросов, связанных с международным военным сотрудничеством и организацией контактов Министерства обороны РФ с военными ведомствами зарубежных государств. Указом Президента Российской Федерации №721 от 28 декабря 2016 г. назначен заместителем Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации. Отвечает за военно-политическую проблематику. Член Экспертно-консультативного совета ПИР-Центра с 2000 года. Член Совета по устойчивому партнерству с Россией (СУПР) с 2009 года. Член Рабочей группы при ЭКС Пир-Центра по вопросам международного сотрудничества в области нераспространения ОМУ и физической ядерной безопасности с 2012 года.

Бужинский Евгений Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Председатель Совета ПИР-Центра
Экспертизы :
Военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Военное сотрудничество
Отношения Россия-НАТО
Договор СНВ
ПРО
Военное использование космоса
Европейская безопасность
Биография :

Генерал-лейтенант запаса, канд. воен. наук. Один из самых опытных военных дипломатов и экспертов России. В Вооруженных Силах с 1968 г. Окончил Военный институт иностранных языков, Военную академию имени М.В. Фрунзе. В 1976-1992 гг. проходил службу на различных должностях в Генеральном штабе СССР и РФ, в 1992-2009 гг. — старший офицер, заместитель начальника направления, начальник направления, заместитель начальника управления. начальник Международно-договорного управления Министерства обороны РФ. Звание генерал-майор присвоено в 2000 г., генерал-лейтенанта – в 2003 году. В 2002 назначен начальником Международно-договорного управления – заместителем начальника Главного управления Международного военного сотрудничества Министерства обороны РФ. Уволен с действительной военной службы в 2009 г.  В 2009–2015 гг. консультант, старший вице-президент ПИР-Центра. С апреля 2014 г. председатель Совета ПИР-Центра. С 2016 по н.в. – доцент Факультета мировой политики МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова, руководитель Центра прикладных политико-военных исследований. С 2009 г. по 2018 г. — заместитель генерального директора АО «Концерн радиостроения «ВЕГА». Вице-президент Российского совета по международным делам. Сфера профессиональных интересов: контроль над вооружениями, военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности, вопросы региональной и глобальной безопасности, нераспространение ОМУ, военное использование космоса, отношения Россия-НАТО, российско-американские, российско-китайские отношения. 10/20

Архив публикаций

Евгений Петрович Бужинский отметил 70-летний юбилей

Воронков Владимир Иванович image
Местоположение : Нью-Йорк, США
Место работы : Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, заместитель Генерального секретаря ООН, глава Бюро по борьбе с терроризмом ООН
Биография :

До 2011 г. - Директор Департамента общеевропейского сотрудничества Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации. В 1975 г. окончил МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова. Кандидат исторических наук. В системе МИД с 1989 г. работал на различных дипломатических должностях в центральном аппарате и за рубежом. 2000-2002 гг. – советник-посланник Посольства России в Республике Польша, 2002 - 2005 гг. работал заместителем директора Департамента кадров Министерства иностранных дел России. 2005-2008 гг. исполнял обязанности заместителя Постоянного представителя Российской Федерации при ОБСЕ. Имеет дипломатический ранг Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посла. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2009 года.

Готтемюллер Роуз image
Местоположение : США
Место работы : Почетный внештатный научный сотрудник Центра исследований проблем нераспространения им. Джеймса Мартина (CNS); Почетный лектор курса имени братьев Пэйн Центра международной безопасности и сотрудничества (CISAC); Научный сотрудник Гуверовского института
Биография :

Роуз Геттемюллер являлась руководителем делегации США на переговорах с Российской Федерацией по новому Договору о сокращении наступательных вооружений (СНВ-3). Начиная с 2000 г. она являлась сотрудником Московского Центра Карнеги, с января 2006 г. по декабрь 2008 г. являясь его директором. До октября 2000 г. была заместителем министра энергетики США по вопросам ядерного нераспространения. Ранее была помощником министра по вопросам нераспространения ОМУ и национальной безопасности, отвечая за сотрудничество с Россией и другими странами СНГ в области нераспространения. С ноября 1997 г. работала в министерстве энергетики в качестве директора департамента по нераспространению ОМУ и национальной безопасности. В 1994-1997 гг. – заместитель директора Международного института стратегических исследований (Лондон, Великобритания). В 1993-1994 гг. - директор по делам России, Украины и Евразии Совета национальной безопасности США. Сфера научных интересов – вопросы нераспространения ядерного оружия и стратегической стабильности. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 1994 года.

Мясников Евгений Владимирович image
Местоположение : Москва, Россия
Место работы : Преподаватель, кафедра общей физики, Московский физико-технический институт
Биография :

Канд. физ.-мат. наук. Окончил факультет аэрофизики и космических исследований Московского физико-технического института (МФТИ) в 1985 г., а в 1988 г. - аспирантуру МФТИ. В 1989 г. защитил кандидатскую диссертацию, которая была посвящена проблеме информативности поляризационных измерений при лазерной локации водных сред. С 1988 по 1991 гг. работал в НПО "Элас" и НПЦ "ОПТЭКС"(Зеленоград) в качестве эксперта по дистанционному зондированию океана. В 1991-1992 гг. проходил годичную стажировку в Центрe по проблемам обороны и контроля над вооружениями (Defense and Arms Control Studies Program) Массачусеттского технологического института (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Е. Мясников с 1992 года работает в Центре по изучению проблем контроля над вооружениями, энергетики и экологии, принимая активное участие в работе над различными исследовательскими проектами организации. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2011 года. Член Совета по устойчивому партнерству с Россией с 2013 года.

Поттер Уильям image
Местоположение : Монтерей, США
Место работы : Директор, Центр исследования проблем нераспространения им. Дж. Мартина, Миддлберийский институт международных исследований в Монтерее
Биография :

Доктор, профессор. Член Совета по международным отношениям и отделения международных отношений Тихоокеанского совета по внешней политике. Профессор по исследованию проблем нераспространения им. Сэма Нанна и Ричарда Лугара. В его научные интересы входят вопросы ядерного терроризма и прогнозы развития ситуации в области нераспространения. Член Экспертного совета  ПИР-Центра.

Решетников Леонид Петрович image
Место работы : Директор, Российский институт стратегических исследований (РИСИ)
Биография :

К.и.н.  С 2009 г. ушел в отставку в связи с достижением предельного возраста пребывания на военной службе. С апреля 1976 года по апрель 2009 года – во внешней разведке. Последняя должность – начальник информационно-аналитического Управления СВР России, член коллегии СВР, генерал-лейтенант. В 1970 году закончил исторический факультет Харьковского государственного университета. С 1971 по 1974 год обучался в аспирантуре Софийского университета (Болгария). Владеет сербским, болгарским и греческим языками. Имеет государственные награды и награды Русской православной церкви.

Соков Николай Николаевич image
Место работы : Cтарший научный сотрудник Венского Центра изучения проблем разоружения и нераспространения.
Биография :

К.и.н., д.п.н. До 2011 г. являлся старшим научным сотрудником Центра изучения проблем нераспространения имени Дж. Мартина Монтерейского института международных исследований (Калифорния, США). Николай Соков закончил Московский государственный университет имени М.В.Ломоносова в 1981 г., получил степень доктора в Мичиганском Университете в 1996 г и степень канидидата исторических наук в Институте мировой экономики и международных отношений (ИМЭМО) РАН в 1986 г. Начиная с 1981 г., Николай Соков работал в Институте США и Канады РАН и ИМЭМО РАН в Москве. В 1987 - 1992 гг. он работал в Министерстве иностранных дел СССР и позднее - Российской Федерации, и принимал участие в переговорах по договорам СНВ-1 и СНВ-2, а также являлся участником множества саммитов и министерских встреч. Николай Соков регулярно выступает на научных конференциях и проводит брифинги для многих организаций и правительственных агентств как в США, так и в Европе. Сфера научных интересов – вопросы ядерного разоружения и военных доктрин, влияние национальной культуры на переговорный стиль.

Трубников Вячеслав Иванович (1944-2022) image
Место работы : Институт мировой экономики и международных отношений Российской академии наук
Должность : Член дирекции, почетный член Международного клуба "Триалог"
Биография :

Генерал армии, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, Герой Российской Федерации. В 1967 г. окончил Московский государственный институт международных отношений с дипломом референта по странам Востока. С 1973 г. член Союза журналистов. C января 1996 года по май 2000 года — директор Службы внешней разведки России. С 2000 по 2004 гг. — первый заместитель министра иностранных дел РФ и специальный представитель (в ранге федерального министра) Президента РФ в странах СНГ. С 2004 по 2009 гг. — Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Российский Федерации в Индии. Член Российского совета по международным делам, член Совета ПИР-Центра, Международного клуба Триалог.

loading