PIR Center Nonproliferation Awards ceremony – 2014

The globes of PIR Center are awarded to the Russian and foreign statesmen and community leaders, scholars, experts, journalists and philanthropists, that have significantly contributed to the strengthening of the nuclear nonproliferation regime, addressing particular nonproliferation challenges, developing education and research activities in the nonproliferation realm. First globes were awarded in 2004 for PIR Center 10th anniversary. The second ceremony took place in 2009. 

We continued the tradition in 2014 and awarded our globes in the following nominations:

For Strengthening the Nonproliferation Regime:

  • Sergey A. Ryabkov (Foreign Ministry of the Russian Federation);
  • Alexei G. Arbatov (Institute of World Economy and International Relations at the Russian Academy of Sciences)
  • Tariq Rauf (Stocholm International Peace Research Institute)

For Professional Coverage of the Issues of Nonproliferation, Regional and Global Security:    

  •  Elena V. Chernenko (Kommersant)
  • Joby Warrick (Washington Post)

For Educating the New Generation in the Area of Nonproliferation:

  • Geneva Center for Security Policy (GCSP)

For Continuing Support to Nonproliferation Research, Education and Publishing:

  • Valery N. Govorukhin (Techsnabexport)

The New Talents in Nonproliferation:

  • Roman A. Ustinov (Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the International Organizations in Vienna)