Memory Galleries

Unfortunately, many of those who were at the origins of the key agreements in the field of nonproliferation and arms control and who could rightfully be called the patriarchs of nonproliferation have already passed away.

For PIR Center, these people were not only first-class experts, but also mentors. Many of them collaborated with us or even worked in PIR Center, devoting the last years of their lives to educating a new generation of specialists in the field of nonproliferation and arms control. In memory of them, the PIR Center maintains Memory Galleries, which contain photographs, archival materials, publications of those whose name will forever remain in the history of nonproliferation.

At the moment , the following Memory Galleries are maintained on the site:

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the USSR and then Russia, Chairman of the PIR Center Executive Board (1999-2010) Roland M. Timerbaev (1927-2019)

Colonel-General, former head of the GRU of the General Staff of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation (1992-1997), member of PIR Center Advisory Board (2002-2021) Fedor I. Ladygin (1937-2021)

Army General, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Hero of the Russian Federation, Senior Researcher of IMEMO RAS, member of the Council of the PIR Center Vyacheslav I. Trubnikov (1944-2022)

Lieutenant-General of the SVR of Russia, Senior Vice-President of PIR Center Gennady M. Evstafiev (1938-2013)

Colonel-General, member of the Council of the PIR Center, former head of the 12th General Directorate of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation (1992-1997) Evgeny P. Maslin (1937-2022)

Every year PIR Center replenishes the Galleries with new materials: photographs, memoirs of friends and colleagues, and publications.