"We are neighbours. Russia is part of Greater Europe. The European Union is a major player in the European space, but it is not the whole of Europe, no matter how some of the EU leaders juggle this word. Common history is evidence that Europe never could build a solid security architecture and ensure the continent’s peaceful, stable development while trying to spite Russia or leave it out of the equation. Many politicians have publicly acknowledged this. And I am sure it won't work."

Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Sergey Lavrov

Project "Towards a New European Security Agenda" is part of the Global & Regional Security: New Ideas for Russia Program. In the framework of the project, PIR Center participates in discussions on the update of European Security and Russia's participation in solving key military-political problems of the region.

 

Shaping the next generation of experts is the main goal of the education and training system on nonproliferation, created and supported by PIR Center in Russia and worldwide. This system includes development of International School on Global Security, cooperation with Russian and CIS universities, Dual Degree Master`s program in Nonproliferation Studies, internship program, involving young scholars into practical research and other networking activities.

During its more than 26 years of experience PIR Center has built up a great collection of reports, journals, monographs, archival documents, interviews, and audiovisual materials, which constitute an invaluable source of considerable expertise of prominent academics and practitioners in the field of nuclear nonproliferation and international security from all over the world. We believe that this expertise must be shared with all nonproliferation community in Russia, CIS countries, the U.S.A., Europe, and further.

PIR Center is planning to create a modern, technologically attractive, and user-friendly online platform for education and training in nonproliferation and arms control, which will become a unique educational and communication portal for the current and future generation of experts in the field of international security.

The goal of the project  is on the one hand, to preserve enormous amounts of documents (including recently declassified) and materials in electronic formats for future generations, as well as to support sustainability of nonproliferation studies in Russia, Europe and other regions, and on the other hand, to attract the best students to research and development of professional career in the sphere of nonproliferation and global security along with strengthening of the PIR Center’s Alumni Community, contained by its 1,000+ members and experts of different levels from 58 countries.

The online platform will host an invaluable archive of materials in Russian and English related to WMD nonproliferation and global security (monographs, analytical articles, reports, workbooks, interviews, blogs, etc.). A special section will be devoted to the archive of manuscripts, books and materials of Roland M. Timerbaev, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Professor, one of the authors of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons. Online educational events (online training courses, lectures, research seminars, webinars, etc.) will be conducted on the platform.

PIR Center has developed a plan for such a new platform and have purchased 1) Nonproliferation.Ru for the Russian audience and for training in Russian language, including online courses we will be providing for five Russian leading regional universities as well as 2) Nonproliferation.World for Russian and global educational projects held in English.

Students from different countries will not only be the objects for such educational programs on our side but also will be subjects who will take an active part in the process. They will be invited to publish their peer-reviewed articles and blog entries on the new online platform, as well as provided an opportunity for exchanging their experiences through informal gatherings and “lessons-learned” informal exchanges that will be regularly held on the basis of  the platform.

The online platform Nonproliferation.Ru / Nonproliferation.World is planned to be launched in for Summer 2021 and will be filled with more specific content, digitalized documents and archives throughout 2021.

This project is completed. Information is not being updated

The project Global Internet Governance and International Information Security is part of the PIR Center Emerging Technologies and Global Security program. The project examines the negotiation processes for the development of norms for the information space, international cooperation in issues related to Internet governance, as well as challenges to Russia's security and international security emanating from the information space.

The Project includes research activities in the field of international information security and global Internet governance. PIR-Center believes that the analysis of these threats, in the context of the objective dualism of the global role of ICT, is an urgent task, necessary both for the purpose of forming responses within Russia and for determining priorities for international cooperation.

PIR Center started research in the field of international information security and Internet governance in the late 1990s, when these issues were just beginning to appear on the Russian security agenda. Today we use the scientific baggage of previous research as a full-fledged basis for further works. Among the problems that PIR Center experts currently explore are:

  • Global Internet governance
  • International information security: negotiation formats and norms, strategies and use of cyber tools
  • Big Data Regulation.

We actively cooperate with leading Russian experts from the Kaspersky Lab, Group-IB, Info-Watch, Cisco, and others in our trainings on new technologies and security in the field of ICT.

PIR Center closely cooperates with MGIMO, the Russian Foreign Ministry, the Russian Diplomatic Academy, Russian and foreign research centers and universities in these and a number of other areas.

For questions regarding the project, please contact "Emerging Technologies and Global Security" Program Director Vadim Kozyulin by phone +7 (495) 987 19 15 or via e-mail [email protected].

The project Emerging Technologies and Russia’s National Interests is part of the PIR Center program Global & Regional Security: New Ideas for Russia and aimed at exploring the potential for cooperation in the use and regulation of new technologies, as well as the transformation of challenges to Russia's military and non-military security. It is aimed at finding solutions that might minimize potential threats by means of a broad discussion and adoption of an international regulation via multilateral dialogue and mutually beneficial cooperation.

 

As part of this project, PIR Center experts are working on the following topics:

  • Artificial intelligence and international security
  • Multilateral cooperation in regulating the use of artificial intelligence technologies
  • Application of AI technologies in the international sphere as a tool for solving security problems in diplomacy and other areas of public administration as well as in international organizations
  • International regulation of Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems
  • International Humanitarian Law in the new technological realities.

PIR Center employees give lectures and an independent course on the topic "New Technologies and International Security" at MGIMO University.

PIR Center also engages Russian and foreign researchers from our Expert Council, graduates of our educational programs, and network associations with PIR Center participation in our projects.

PIR Center closely cooperates with MGIMO, the Russian Foreign Ministry, the Russian Diplomatic Academy, Russian and foreign research centers and universities in these and a number of other areas.

For questions regarding the project, please contact PIR Center Consultant Vadim Kozyulin by phone +7 (495) 987 19 15 or via e-mail [email protected].

loading

«Мы – соседи. Россия – часть Большой Европы. Евросоюз – крупный игрок на европейском пространстве, но он – не вся Европа, как бы этим словом не жонглировали некоторые лидеры стран ЕС. Общая история свидетельствует, что построить прочную архитектуру безопасности на континенте, обеспечить его мирное, стабильное развитие без участия нашей страны либо ей во вред никогда не получалось.»

Министр иностранных дел России Сергей Лавров

Проект "К новой повестке дня европейской безопасности" является частью программы "Глобальная и региональная безопасность: новые идеи для России". В рамках проекта ПИР-Центр участвует в дискуссии по вопросам обновления европейской безопасности и участия России в решении ключевых военно-политических проблем региона.


Системная подготовка квалифицированных специалистов в области международной безопасности и нераспространения ОМУ, разработка инновационных образовательных методик в этих областях остается одним из приоритетных и динамично развивающихся направлений деятельности ПИР-Центра. Эта система включает проект Международной школы глобальной безопасности, сотрудничество с университетами России и стран СНГ, магистерскую программу двойного диплома по исследованиям в области нераспространения, программу стажировок, вовлечение молодых ученых в практические исследования и другие совместные проекты.

За свою 26-летнюю историю ПИР-Центр собрал обширную коллекцию монографий, докладов, журналов, архивных документов, интервью, аудио- и видеоматериалов, которые являются неисчерпаемым источником опыта выдающихся ученых и практиков со всего мира в области нераспространения ОМУ и международной безопасности. Мы считаем, что этот опыт должен быть передан всему сообществу «нераспространенцев» в России, СНГ, США, Европе и других странах.

С этой целью ПИР-Центр создает уникальный интернет-ресурс – современную, технологически привлекательную и простую в использовании онлайн платформу по обучению в области нераспространения ОМУ и глобальной безопасности, которая станет единым научно-образовательным и коммуникационным порталом для нынешнего и будущего поколения экспертов в сфере международной безопасности.

Проект нацелен, с одной стороны, на сохранение для будущих поколений огромного числа архивных документов (в том числе недавно рассекреченных) и материалов в электроном формате, а также поддержку исследований в области нераспространения в России и во всем мире, с другой стороны – на привлечение лучших студентов к исследованиям и развитию профессиональной карьеры в сфере нераспространения и глобальной безопасности, а также укрепление сообщества выпускников ПИР-Центра, в состав которого входят уже более 1000 его членов и экспертов разного уровня из 58 стран мира.

На базе онлайн платформы будет размещен бесценный архив материалов на русском и английском языках, связанных с нераспространением ОМУ и глобальной безопасностью (монографии, аналитические статьи, доклады, рабочие тетради, интервью, блоги и т.д.). Отдельный раздел будет посвящен архиву рукописей, книг и материалов Роланда Михайловича Тимербаева – Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посла, профессора, доктора исторических наук, одного из авторов Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия. Онлайн платформа станет площадкой для проведения дистанционных образовательных мероприятий (тренинговых онлайн курсов, лекций, научных семинаров, вебинаров и др.).

В рамках проекта ПИР-Центр разрабатывает 1) Nonproliferation.Ru для российской аудитории и обучения на русском языке, включая онлайн-курсы и тренинги для пяти ведущих российских региональных университетов, а также 2) Nonproliferation.World для международных образовательных проектов, проводимых на английском языке.

Студенты из разных стран станут не только объектами таких образовательных программ с нашей стороны, но и примут активное участие в процессе. Им будет предложено публиковать рецензируемые статьи и записи в блогах на новой онлайн платформе, а также предоставлена возможность для обмена опытом посредством онлайн встреч и неформальных дискуссий, которые будут регулярно проводиться на базе платформы.

Запуск онлайн платформы Nonproliferation.Ru / Nonproliferation.World запланирован на лето 2021 года, после чего до начала 2022 года она будет наполняться цифровыми документами, архивными материалами, аудио- и видеоконтентом.

Данный проект завершен. Данные не обновляются

Проект «Глобальное управление интернетом и международная информационная безопасность» является частью программы ПИР-Центра «Новые технологии и международная безопасность». В рамках проекта изучаются переговорные процессы по выработке норм для информационного пространства, международное сотрудничество в вопросах, связанных с управлением интернетом, а также вызовы безопасности России и международной безопасности, исходящие из информационного пространства.

Проект подразумевает исследовательскую деятельность в области международной информационной безопасности и глобального управления интернетом. ПИР-Центр полагает, что проведение анализа данных угроз, в контексте объективного дуализма глобальной роли ИКТ, является остро актуальной задачей, необходимой как для целей формирования ответов внутри России, так и для определения приоритетов международного сотрудничества.

ПИР-Центр начал исследования в области международной информационной безопасности и управления интернетом еще в конце 1990-х гг., когда эти вопросы лишь начинали фигурировать в российской повестке дня в сфере безопасности, и сегодня использует научный багаж прежних исследований в качестве полноценной базы для дальнейшей работы. Среди проблем, которые эксперты ПИР-Центра исследуют в настоящее время:

  • Глобальное управление интернетом
  • Международная информационная безопасность: переговорные форматы и выработка норм, стратегии и применение киберсредств
  • Регулирование оборота больших данных.

В тренингах по новым технологиям и безопасности в сфере ИКТ мы активно сотрудничаем с ведущими российскими экспертами из Лаборатории Касперского, Group-IB, Инфо-Вотч, Cisco и др.

В этих и ряде других областей ПИР-Центр тесно сотрудничает с МГИМО МИД России и  Дипломатической академией МИД России, российскими и зарубежными научными центрами и университетами. 

По вопросам, связанным с проектом, Вы можете обращаться к директору программы «Новые технологии и международная безопасность» Вадиму Козюлину по телефону 7 (495) 987 1915 или по электронной почте [email protected].

Проект «Новые технологии и интересы России» является частью программы "Глобальная и региональная безопасность: новые идеи для России" и нацелен на изучение потенциала сотрудничества в использовании и возможности регулирования новых технологий, а также трансформации вызовов военной и невоенной безопасности России. Он нацелен на поиск решений, которые позволят минимизировать потенциальные угрозы через широкое обсуждение и принятие международного регулирования путем многостороннего диалога и взаимовыгодного сотрудничества.

В рамках этого проекта сотрудники ПИР-Центра работают над такими темами:

  • Искусственный интеллект и международная безопасность
  • Многостороннее сотрудничество в области регулирования использования технологий искусственного интеллекта
  • Применение технологий ИИ в международной сфере в качестве инструмента решения проблем безопасности: в дипломатии и других областях государственного управления, в работе международных организаций
  • Международное регулирование смертоносных автономных систем
  • Международное гуманитарное право в новых технологических реалиях.

По упомянутой проблематике сотрудники ПИР-Центра читают как отдельные лекции, так и самостоятельный курс по теме «Новые технологии и международная безопасности» в МГИМО МИД РФ.

ПИР-Центр также привлекает к совместным проектам российских и зарубежных исследователей из Экспертного совета ПИРа, выпускников образовательных программ, сетевых объединений с участием ПИР-Центра.

В этих и ряде других областей ПИР-Центр тесно сотрудничает с МГИМО МИД России и  Дипломатической академией МИД России, российскими и зарубежными научными центрами и университетами.

По вопросам, связанным с проектом, Вы можете обращаться к консультанту ПИР-Центра Вадиму Козюлину по телефону 7 (495) 987 1915 или по электронной почте [email protected].

loading